Vocal critics get seats in Penang Transport Council

  • Nation
  • Friday, 27 May 2016

GEORGE TOWN: Opposition leaders and NGOs who are vocal critics of the state government have been made members of the Penang Transport Council.

State opposition leader and Teluk Air Tawar assemblyman Datuk Jahara Hamid, Teluk Bahang assemblyman Datuk Shah Headan Ayoob Hussain and Bayan Lepas assemblyman Nordin Ahmad have been appointed to the council.

Penang Island City Council member Dr Lim Mah Hui, Penang Consumers Association president S.M. Mohamed Idris and blogger Anil Netto, who all have been vocal critics of the Penang Transport Master Plan, have also been included in the 46-member council.

Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng (pic), who announced this at a press conference at Komtar here Friday, said the appointment of opposition leaders and NGOs showed that the state government has nothing to hide.

"The move is in line with the request of opposition leaders in the state assembly last week that some of their assemblyman and NGOs be appointed in the council," said Lim.

The assembly unanimously agreed last week to postpone reclamation work on the southern tip of the island until a detailed environment impact assessment is submitted.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Next In Nation

Govt intensifying efforts to improve marketability of graduates, says Saravanan
Body of drowning victim in Batang Kali found
Sabah floods: 69 flood victims currently at two relief centres
Covid-19: Refer to ventilation system guides to prevent infection spread, says Health DG
Health Ministry's winding-up the expected focus in Parliament on Wednesday (Sept 23)
Nepalese woman arrested after baby found dead at hostel
Covid-19 death toll almost 25,000 after 487 more fatalities reported on Wednesday (Sept 22)
Do you know... about the black panthers in Malaysia?
Parents get assurance
Parents fail to get their kids jabbed without an appointment

Stories You'll Enjoy