EC: BN wins Bukit Kota, Bukit Sari seats uncontested

  • Nation
  • Monday, 25 Apr 2016

KUCHING: The Election Commission (EC) confirms that Barisan Nasional has won two state seats uncontested.

Its chief Datuk Seri Mohd Hashim Abdullah (pic) said Datuk Dr Abdul Rahman Ismail had won the Bukit Kota seat while Datuk Amar Awang Tengah Ali Hasan has won the Bukit Sari seat.

“As of the close of nominations, two candidates have been declared winners by Election Commission returning officers,” he told a press conference at its headquarters on Monday.

He said that two nominations paper had been rejected, one from PKR in Pantai Damai and one independent in Kuala Rajang.

Mohd Hashim also said that the EC expected a 75% voter turn out on polling day on May 7.

In the last state election in 2011, the turnout was about 70%.

He said the first results are expected to be announced after 6pm, while the full result are expected to be known by 11pm.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Next In Nation

Timber industry seeks local grads to join in its march towards IR 4.0
Covid-19: 1,555 new cases, six fatalities bring death toll to 1,141
Melaka CID chief says he feels fine after receiving Covid-19 vaccine
RM10k fine only for repeat offenders of SOP, says Ismail Sabri
Now, Sebatik rep makes SD revoking pre-signed resignation letter
Ismail Sabri: 400 nabbed for MCO violations on Monday (March 1)
Police nab man for allegedly molesting his granddaughter
KL, Selangor, Johor and Penang under CMCO from March 5
Adam Rosly loses appeal to set aside conviction, six months' jail, fine
Covid-19: Negri MB gets vaccine jab

Stories You'll Enjoy