PCM: Lim facing revolt due to his dictatorial approach

  • Nation
  • Wednesday, 25 Nov 2015

GEORGE TOWN: Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng’s failure to listen to the views of others caused the five PKR assemblymen to abstain from voting on a land reclamation motion put forward by Umno in the state assembly last week.

Parti Cinta Malaysia (PCM) president Datuk Huan Cheng Guan said Lim’s dictatorial approach was making some DAP members unhappy as he was making enemies of Pakatan Harapan partners by accusing them of being Umno supporters.

“He is facing revolt everywhere, within his own party, PAS and now PKR. He is not fit to lead Penang as he has not won any legitimacy to be a leader within his own party.

“He is also not contesting in the coming Penang DAP election. He should make way for Penang DAP chairman Chow Kon Yeow. How could he be the Chief Minister when he knows that he will lose if he contests for any posts in the state DAP election?” he told a press conference yesterday.

Huan said Chow would be a more capable leader as he had proven time and again that he had the support of party members by winning the state chairman’s post.

“Lim at one point was willing to use the PAS logo to contest in the last general election if the Registrar of Societies (RoS) deregistered DAP but now he says PAS is an enemy of DAP.

“He needs to show that he has the support in the party by contesting in the state election, or else he is merely riding roughshod over everyone who fails to accept his views,” he added.

Umno’s Pulau Betong assemblyman Mohamad Farid Saad had, on the last day of the state legislative assembly sitting last Friday, tabled a motion on land reclamation in the state.

Five PKR assemblymen – Ong Chin Wen (Bukit Tengah), Dr Norlela Ariffin (Penanti), Cheah Kah Peng (Kebun Bunga), Dr T. Jayabalan (Batu Uban) and Lee Khai Loon (Machang Bubuk) – abstained from voting.

The other PKR representatives, all of whom are state executive councillors – Deputy Chief Minister I Datuk Mohd Rashid Hasnon (Pantai Jerejak), Abdul Malik Abul Kassim (Batu Maung), Dr Afif Bahardin (Seberang Jaya), and the Deputy Speaker Datuk Maktar Shapee (Sungai Bakap) – voted against the motion.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Next In Nation

Sabah women business leaders pledge to raise funds for nurses to buy essentials
Body of Indonesian woman found in restaurant in Semenyih
Paul Yong’s rape trial: Two unknown mixed profile DNA samples taken from crime scene, court told
Allegations on sale of personal data to be investigated, says Bukit Aman
51% bumi rule will only enrich cronies, govt must find solution that favours M'sians, says Anwar
Covid-19: Sarawak Deputy CM James Masing tests positive
Drug peddling a family affair for senior citizen
Audit: TVET programmes yet to achieve 11MP targets, contain weaknesses
Hearing of Rosmah's bid to stay corruption trial set on Oct 4
Glue-sniffer ‘stuck’ atop Beaufort bridge

Stories You'll Enjoy