Azmin retains PKR post in the nation’s longest party election

  • Nation
  • Friday, 22 Aug 2014

PETALING JAYA: Incumbent PKR deputy president Azmin Ali has retained his post in the longest party election in Malaysian history.

It took the party, which claimed to have about 500,000 eligible voters, four months to conclude the election that was marred with allegations of fraud, corruption and violence.

Azmin’s closest contender, Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim, who was trailing behind by about a 4,000-vote difference, has been sacked for refusing to resign as the Selangor Mentri Besar.

Secretary-general Datuk Saifuddin Nasution, who was the chosen candidate of party supremo Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, only managed to secure 10,743 votes to Azmin’s 22,562 votes.

Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail was returned unopposed, while her daughter Nurul Izzah Anwar secured the highest vote (29,712) in the vice-presidential race.

Tian Chua, who garnered 22,324 votes, was the only other incumbent vice-president who retained the post as the other two, Fuziah Salleh and N. Surendran, lost to former Youth chief Shamsul Iskandar Mohd Akin (19,839) and strategic director Rafizi Ramli (18,887).

Selangor deputy speaker Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad beat Batu Caves assemblyman Amirudin Shari and Mohd Nazree Yunus for the Youth chief post.

Incumbent Wanita chief Zuraida Kamaruddin retained her post by a mere 283-vote majority in a straight fight with Rodziah Ismail, who garnered 9,109 votes.

PKR election committee chairman Datuk Johari Abdul warned disgruntled members against taking their grievances to court or face immediate sacking.

He said those who were unhappy with the result could lodge complaints with the appeals committee after the party national congress.

The central and division elections were held in stages from April.

The process took longer than anticipated following disputes over alleged irregularities that forced the party headquarters to postpone elections in many divisions.

The 20 central committee winners are Lathefa Koya, Hee Loy Sian, Christina Liew, Fariz Musa, Elizabeth Wong, Ali Biju, Dr Yaakob Sapari, Shuhaimi Shafie. S. Manikavasagam, Azmizam Zaman Huri, William Leong, Zakaria Abdul Hamid, Roland Chia, Khalid Jaafar, G. Manivanan, M. Ravi, Abdullah Sani Abdul Hamid and Gooi Hsiao Leung.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Next In Nation

Momentum builds on vaccine rollout
‘Onus on bosses to register workers’
Muhyiddin performs tarawih prayers with Batu Caves residents
Mcd S'pore to connect M'sian families via 'My Happy Table'
MGC appreciates RM4mil allocation for Sikh community
Cop killed after motorcycle skidded, crashed at Penang Bridge
Hishammuddin: Rohingya issue should be dealt properly to avoid further influx of refugees
Covid-19: SJK(C) Yuk Chai among 19 schools ordered to close in Petaling district
Agong congratulates two M'sian students for excelling in ACCA
Sabah's first sugar factory, aquaculture project to create 1,000 direct job opportunities

Stories You'll Enjoy