All eyes on Selangor exco ‘squad’

KLANG: The swearing-in ceremony of the new Selangor executive council is just 24 hours away but Pakatan Rakyat is nowhere near finalising the line-up, according to sources.

Intense haggling was still going on, said a Pakatan official who declined to be named.

He claimed that two separate name lists had been prepared and presented to Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah for his consideration.

The swearing-in is scheduled before the Sultan at Istana Alam Shah tomorrow, with a rehearsal planned for today.

Selangor DAP vice-chairman Datuk Teng Chang Khim confirmed that the final list of 10 exco members had not been decided and that PKR, PAS and the DAP were still in discussion. “But we will definitely be ready before the swearing-in,’’ he said when contacted.

Likening the selection process to that of picking a football team, Teng said the Sultan had consented to “a squad which includes first team players and substitutes”.

“Now we are discussing who will be in the final 10. When the players march on to the field, you will know who they are,” said the former Selangor State Legislative Assembly Speaker.

In the previous line-up, the DAP and PAS had three representatives each and PKR four. PKR is likely to be the party with three representatives this time but it is not known which party – the DAP or PAS – will get the extra exco seat.

The DAP has already announced the names of two of its representatives, Teng (Sungai Pinang) and Ean Yong Hian Wah (Seri Kembangan).

It is learnt that the other names nominated by the party are Lau Weng San (Kampung Tunku), Ng Suee Lim (Sekinchan), Hannah Yeoh (Subang Jaya) and V. Ganabatirao (Kota Alam Shah).

Former exco members Teresa Kok did not contest a state seat and Ronnie Liu was dropped, leaving Ean Yong as the only “survivor” from the old team.

Ean Yong is expected to continue in his New Village Development and Illegal Factories portfolio while Teng is slated to take over the Local Government portfolio, which was held by Liu.

A PKR source said the party’s nominees were Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad (Seri Setia), Shuhaimi Shafiei (Sri Muda), Haniza Talha (Taman Medan), Rodziah Ismail (Batu Tiga) and Dr Xavier Jayakumar (Sri Andalas).

PAS has nominated its Selangor commissioner Dr Rani Osman and its three former exco members – Iskandar Samad (Cempaka), Dr Halimah Ali (Selat Kelang) and Dr Yunus Hairi (Sijangkang) as well as Sallehen Mukhyi (Sabak).

There is also talk that PKR’s defeated Sabak Bernam parliamentary candidate Dr Abdul Aziz Bari could be brought in as the Speaker.

“He is a law professor and is articulate and knowledgeable. He will make a great Speaker,’’ a PAS official said.

On another matter, a PKR insider said the party planned to appoint its secretary-general Datuk Saifuddin Nasution Ismail as the Selangor Mentri Besar’s chief of staff.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Politics , selangor exco line-up


Did you find this article insightful?


Next In Nation

Speaker Art Harun advises Opposition MP to calm down to avoid 'heart attack' during heated exchange
Alleged drug dealers nabbed in waters off Semporna
Ismail Sabri: 131 people fined for not wearing face masks
M'sian Army chief suggests increased border patrols, more cooperation among Asean
Health DG: Ambulance driver who died in Perak did not have Covid-19
Sarawak identifies 15 districts as drug abuse red zones
Covid-19: Royal Lake Club and Gamuda Walk confirm a case each, measures being taken
Extend loan repayment periods, Cuepacs urges the govt
Govt plans to revive National Service programme
Travellers urged to take advantage of special deals after movement restrictions lifted between green zones

Stories You'll Enjoy