GE13: Anwar names PKR candidates for Padang Serai, Kulim-Bandar Baharu, Merbok and Sungai Petani

MERBOK: PKR vice-president N. Surendran will contest in the Padang Serai parliamentary seat while party secretary-general, incumbent Machang MP Saifuddin Nasution, will contest in the Kulim-Bandar Baharu parliamentary seat in GE13, PKR advisor Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim has revealed.

Meanwhile, incumbent Merbok MP Datuk Rashid Din will be replaced by a female candidate - Sungai Petani Wanita PKR chief Nurin Aina Azrina Abdullah, who is also a Sungai Petani Municipal Council councillor.

The 38-year-old former engineer is a first-time candidate for the polls.

Incumbent Sungai Petani MP Datuk Johari Abdul will contest in the same parliamentary seat again.

Anwar made the announcements at a ceramah in Laguna Merbok late last Sunday.

In the 2008 general elections, N. Gobalakrishnan and Datuk Zulkifli Noordin won the Padang Serai and Kulim-Bandar Baharu seats respectively under the PKR ticket.

However, both became independent when Gobalakrishnan quit and Zulkifli was sacked from the party in 2010.

For more election stories, please visit The Star's GE13 site