PKR: Mix-up occurred when sending in results for No 2 race by phone

  • Nation
  • Tuesday, 02 Nov 2010

PETALING JAYA: The PKR secretariat has denied “readjusting” the vote tally in favour of deputy president candidate Azmin Ali.

PKR secretary-general Saifuddin Nasution Ismail said the discrepancies that occurred in the vote tally was due to human error.

He was commenting on the confusion over the different results for the deputy presidency race released by the headquarters and at a press conference later.

The early vote tally from 68 divisions that held polling over the weekend showed Zaid leading with 3,683 votes followed by Azmin Ali (3,051) and Mustaffa Kamil Ayub (1,271).

However, the party headquarters later released new figures which showed Azmin leading with 3,051 votes followed by Zaid (2,529) and Mustaffa (1,149) after counter checking with results from 27 divisions.

“We only accept results that are endorsed by the election official, and the secretary of the respective divisions or counting agents.

“However, as the public was keen to know who was leading, we temporarily accepted results sent via e-mail or via telephone.

“Human error can occur when results are given over the telephone. There was a case when the candidate received 22 votes, but it was written as two,” he said.

On the poor voter turnout, Saifud­din blamed it on the authorities for revoking the permit for Suara Keadilan.

He said the 68 divisions had recorded an average turnout of between 5% and 9%.

Meanwhile Batu MP Tian Chua is leading in the vice-presidential race with 3,621 votes, followed by Lembah Pantai MP Nurul Izzah Anwar (3,543), PKR elections director Fuziah Salleh (2,895), Penang deputy Chief Minister 1 Mansor Othman (2,852), and Padang Serai MP N. Gobalakrishnan (2,080).

A total of 132 candidates are vying for 20 central leadership council posts.

Incumbent Wanita chief Zuraida Kamaruddin is leading with 1,180 votes followed by disciplinary committee chairman Animah Ferrar (408) and Perlis Wanita chief Dr Suraya Sudin (403).

Incumbent Youth chief Shamsul Iskandar Mohd Akin is trailing with 1,029 votes against Badrul Hisham Shaharin (Chegubard) 1,133 votes.

One hundred and fifty divisions will hold polling over the weekends from Nov 6 to Nov 21.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Next In Nation

Public exams to go on as planned
Retailers call for uniform guidelines on operating hours
Govt urged to extend RM600 allowance to all healthcare staff
RTM to promote teaching and learning from home
CRSM aims to raise RM500k to help 5,000 flood-hit families, says MCA Youth chief
Covid-19: One school each in Melaka, Terengganu temporarily closed
Saifuddin: RTM to set up special education TV channel
Penang firemen rescue girl, 3, after being trapped in a car
Deputy Foreign Minister donates 150k face masks to Bandar Tun Razak residents
Covid-19: 12 new clusters reported, seven linked to workplaces

Stories You'll Enjoy