Khalid wins K. Selangor post

  • Nation
  • Monday, 04 Oct 2010

PETALING JAYA: Mentri Besar Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim overcame a persistent smear campaign and the presence of 1,000 angry voters from Ijok to win the Kuala Selangor PKR division chief post.

Khalid won by a 424-vote majority in a three-cornered fight against M. Thamilvaanan @ Muhammad Kamil Vaanan Abdullah and Mazli Saring.

He polled 772 votes to Kamil’s 348 while Mazli secured 122 votes. There were 202 spoilt votes.

Kamil had earlier demanded that the vote counting process be stopped until the central election committee furnished the exact number of voter turnout.

Vote counting resumed at about midnight after the election committee declared that 1,461 voters had cast their votes.

Kamil’s supporters said they suspected something was amiss as some voters had complained that their names had been struck off the voters’ list.

“We could not dismiss the possibility of phantom voters. Also, there are more than 200 spoilt votes,” Kamil said.

His supporters were also upset because the election committee members had told some illiterate voters where to tick on the ballot papers.

The Ijok voters were angry because of Khalid’s alleged failure to fulfil election promises.

Khalid’s victory, however, came as a relief for his supporters as his position as Mentri Besar would have beenjeopardised had he lost the division chief post.

For PKR vice-president Azmin Ali, it was a breeze to retain his post as Gombak division chief.

He had defeated his opponent Bakar Ninggal by a 273-vote majority.

Azmin garnered 333 votes while Bakar clinched 60 votes in the straight fight.

“I am happy to note that the process of direct election in Gombak has gone smoothly.

“Overall, the party has successfully implemented the new system that empowers every member to select leaders,” he said.

The last lap of divisional elections also favoured the elected representatives.

Gombak Setia assemblyman Amirudin Shari won the division deputy chief post with 329 votes in a straight fight against Jamaludin Abdul Karim, who garnered 68 votes.

Selayang MP William Leong had defeated Datuk Mazlan Hasan to secure the Selayang division chief post.

Padang Serai MP N. Gobalakrishnan also succeeded in his bid to secure the Padang Serai division chief post in a three-cornered fight against V. Sandrasekharan and Shamsul Anuar Abdullah.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Next In Nation

Food delivery man killed by falling tree branch following heavy rain in Cheras
Ramadan bazaars will be closed if Covid-19 infections occur, says Annuar Musa
As Covid-19 cases rise, local authorities in Sabah told to review ruling on markets and stalls
Sabah STAR sec-gen Guandee Kohoi to be sworn in as Deputy Tourism, Arts and Culture Minister on Friday (April 16)
Cops record statement from Zeti’s husband
Religious school in Kelantan, Kuching Pulapol under EMCO from April 16-29
State to ramp up vaccination plan to immunise all eligible Sarawakians by end-August, says Douglas Uggah
Employment portal will help Malaysia legalise undocumented Bangladeshis, says High Commissioner
No MCO in five Sarawak districts, CMCO to continue until April 26 as scheduled, says Deputy CM
Two boats held in Johor over illegal fishing

Stories You'll Enjoy