Najib names 28-member Cabinet (Update 6)

  • Nation
  • Thursday, 09 Apr 2009

PUTRAJAYA: Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak announced a 28-member Cabinet with 25 ministries that saw eight ministers dropped and seven new faces appointed.

Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, who won the Umno deputy presidency in last month’s party elections, was appointed Deputy Prime Minister and Education Minister.

Najib, who took his oath of office as the new prime minister on April 3, also retained the finance portfolio which he has held since Sept 19 last year following the portfolio swap between him and former premier Tun Abdullah Ahmad Badawi at that time.

Najib’s Cabinet is slightly smaller than his predecessor’s 32 ministers and 27 ministries.

Najib said that the new members of the administration were highly spirited and ready to serve.

“I am confident that all of them share the same commitment to spur the nation towards excellence.

“This is our lineup and our team which reflects Malaysia’s plural society,“ he said when announcing the list at the Prime Minister’s Department, carried live on national television.

The new Cabinet also a reflection of the slogan “One Malaysia. People First. Performance Now” adopted by Najib’s administration.

The eight dropped are Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar (Home), Datuk Seri Azalina Othman Said (Tourism), Senator Tan Sri Muhammad Muhammad Taib (Rural and Regional Development), Senator Datuk Amirsham A. Aziz (Prime Minister’s Department), Datuk Seri Ong Ka Chuan (Housing and Local Government), Datuk Mohd Zin Mohamed (Works), Datuk Seri Zulhasnan Rafique (Federal Territories) and Datuk Shahrir Abdul Samad (Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs) who had resigned.

The new faces includes Gerakan president Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon who is appointed Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department in charge of Unity and Performance Management.

The functions of the Entrepreneur and Cooperative Development will be absorbed by other ministries -- for example, small and medium enterprise development will come under International Trade and Industry, while Mara and Tekun will be overseen by Rural and Regional Development.

Najib also announced that he would be forming a Council of Economic Advisers, consisting of between six and eight experts who will advise him directly on economic matters. The chairman of the Council will have ministerial rank but would not be part of the Cabinet.

Najib was at Istana Terengganu in Kuala Lumpur at about 10:57am where he had a 30-min audience with the Yang Di-Pertuan Agong Tuanku Mizan, before leaving for Putrajaya where he announced the new line-up at 3pm.

The premier had spent the last five days juggling names and positions to take into consideration the requests and views of various Barisan Nasional component parties.

The new ministers and deputy ministers will take their oath of office at Istana Negara at 9.30am Friday.


Prime Minister and Finance Minister 1: Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak

Deputy PM and Education Minister: Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin

Ministers in Prime Minister’s Department Unity and Performance Management: Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon Law and Parliament: Datuk Seri Mohamed Nazri Aziz Religious Affairs: Brig. Gen. (Rtd) Datuk Jamil Khir Baharum Economic Planning Unit: Tan Sri Nor Mohamed Yakcop

Deputies: Datuk Liew Vui Keong, Senator Datuk Dr Mashitah Ibrahim, Datuk SK Devamany, Ahmad Maslan, Senator T. Murugiah

Finance Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak Finance Minister II: Datuk Ahmad Husni Hanadzlah Deputies: Datuk Chor Chee Heung, Datuk Dr Awang Adek Hussein

Education Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin Deputies: Datuk Wee Ka Siong, Datuk Puad Zarkashi

Transport Datuk Seri Ong Tee Keat Deputies: Datuk Abdul Rahim Bakri, Datuk Robert Lau

Home Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein Deputies: Datuk Wira Abu Seman Yusop, Jelaing Mersat

Information, Communications, Arts and Culture Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim Deputies: Datuk Joseph Salang Gandum, Senator Heng Seai Kie

Energy, Green Technology & Water Datuk Peter Chin Fah Kui Deputy: Noriah Kasnon

Plantation Industries and Commodities Tan Sri Bernard Dompok Deputy: Datuk Hamzah Zainuddin

Rural and Regional Development Datuk Seri Shafie Apdal Deputies: Datuk Hassan Malek, Datuk Joseph Entulu

Higher Education Datuk Seri Khaled Nordin Deputies: Dr Hou Kok Chung, Saifuddin Abdullah

International Trade and Industry Datuk Mustapa Mohamed Deputies: Datuk Muhkriz Mahathir, Datuk Jacob Dungau

Science, Technology and Innovation Datuk Dr Maximus Ongkili Deputy: Fadillah Yusof

Natural Resources and Environment Datuk Douglas Uggah Embas Deputy: Tan Sri Joseph Kurup

Tourism Datuk Seri Dr Ng Yen Yen Deputy: Datuk Seri Sulaiman Abdul Rahman Abdul Taib

Agriculture and Agro-based Industries Datuk Noh Omar Deputies: Johari Baharum, Rohani Abdul Karim

Defence Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi Deputy: Datuk Dr Abdul Latif

Works Datuk Shaziman Abu Mansor Deputy: Datuk Yong Khoon Seng

Health Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai Deputy: Datuk Rosnah Rashid Shilin

Youth and Sports Datuk Ahmad Shabery Cheek Deputies: Datuk Razali Ibrahim, Wee Jeck Seng

Human Resources Datuk Dr S. Subramaniam Deputy: Datuk Maznah Mazlan

Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Deputy: Datuk Tan Lian Hoe

Housing and Local Government Datuk Kong Cho Ha Deputy: Lajim Ukin

Women, Family and Community Development Datuk Seri Shahrizat Abdul Jalil Deputy: Datin Paduka Chew Mei Fun

Foreign Affairs Datuk Anifah Aman Deputies: Datuk Lee Chee Leong, Senator A. Kohilan Pillai

Federal Territories Datuk Raja Nong Chik Zainal Abidin Deputy: Datuk M. Saravanan

Related articles:

Tee Keat: MCA hopes to retain same number of posts

Umno may give up four posts

Najib continues to meet BN component party leaders

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Next In Nation

Johor cops issue over 40 compounds in karaoke centre raid
Two brothers die while on their way to gift car to father
Two girls drown at Pantai Sg Ular in Kuantan, boy missing
Jakim's Syarak and Civil Law Technical Committee to improve Syariah criminal laws
Labuan woman stranded in Sarawak for over 30 years returns home
Driver meets deceased's family to seek forgiveness
Covid-19: Kg Sinsingon and Kg Lotong in Sabah under enhanced MCO until March 12
Driver of crashed bus ferrying Covid-19 patients tests positive for disease
Health DG: Seven out of eight new clusters linked to workplaces
Departure of Sebatik assemblyman will not weaken Warisan, says Merotai rep

Stories You'll Enjoy