Stay united, says King

KUALA LUMPUR: All races must unite and continue to strive for peace and prosperity, said Yang di-Pertuan Agong Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin.

“The peace and prosperity we all enjoy today did not come on their own but are maintained through unity and cooperation from all citizens regardless of race and religion,” the King said in his speech at the investiture ceremony at Istana Negara yesterday in conjunction with Federal Territory Day on Sunday.

Tuanku Mizan also said that it was the duty of every citizen to protect the environment, and hoped that the people would learn from the natural disasters which occurred last year.

He called on the people of the Federal Territories to work hard and be patient in the midst of uncertainties in the world economy.

Tuanku Mizan also expressed happiness at the pace of development in the three Federal Territories of Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya and Labuan.

He stressed that the growth of the Federal Territories must be accompanied by human capital development with the aim of creating a knowledgeable society able to compete in the world stage.

Earlier in his welcoming speech, Federal Territories Minister Datuk Seri Zulhasnan Rafique urged civil servants to be responsive to the needs of the public and to be ready to move with the times.

“Apply the no-wrong-door policy, this will ensure actions will be implemented correctly and on time,” he said.

He pledged that his ministry would work harder at improving public service in line with the Government’s initiative to creating an effective, competent and trustworthy delivery system.

Dewan Rakyat Speaker Tan Sri Pandikar Amin Mulia headed the 282 recipients of honours at the Balairong Seri.

He received the Seri Utama Mahkota Wilayah (SUMW) award, which carries the title “Datuk Seri Utama.” Two other SUMW recipients are Bank Negara Governor Tan Sri Dr Zeti Akhtar Aziz and Petronas chairman Tan Sri Mohd Hassan Marican.

Twelve people received the Seri Mahkota Wilayah (SMW), which carries the title ‘’Datuk Seri’’.

Among them are The Star group chief editor Datuk Wong Chun Wai and Bernama editorial adviser Datuk Azman Ujang.

Bernama editor-in-chief Yong Soo Heong and Utusan Melayu (M) Bhd editor-in-chief Abdul Aziz Ishak are among 28 people who received the Panglima Mahkota Wilayah (PMW), which carries the title “Datuk.”

Another 28 recipients were awarded the Johan Mahkota Wilayah (JMW), while 59 others received the Kesatria Mahkota Wilayah (KMW); 71 the Ahli Mahkota Wilayah (AMW) and 81 the Pingat Pangkuan Mah–kota Wilayah (PPW).

Nation , News