Sarawak BN in near clean sweep

  • Nation
  • Sunday, 09 Mar 2008

Emotional meeting: Datuk Mortadza Daud, 81, feeling touched after meeting Taib at SK Merpati Jepang in Kuching.KUCHING: The Sarawak Barisan Nasional scored a landslide victory, losing only Bandar Kuching so far, in the parliamentary elections. 

At press time, the four-party coalition captured 29 of the 30 seats.  

Polling for the 31st seat – Hulu Rajang – has been delayed. Voters in three areas will cast their ballots today because a boat ferrying a mobile polling team and ballot boxes capsized yesterday. 

PKR and Sarawak National Party (SNAP), which fielded 12 and three candidates respectively, were wiped out.  

PAS’ sole candidate in Batang Lupar was defeated.  

Emotionalmeeting: DatukMortadza Daud,81, feelingtouched aftermeeting Taibat SK MerpatiJepang inKuching.

State Barisan backbone Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB), led by Chief Minister Tan Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud, delivered all the 14 seats it was allocated. Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) won five of the six seats (the other is Hulu Rajang) and Sarawak Progressive Democratic Party (SPDP) retained all its four seats. 

The Sarawak United People’s Party (SUPP) triumphed in six of the seven seats it contested. However, its Youth leader Alan Sim Yaw Yen failed to unseat DAP’s incumbent Chong Chieng Jien in a straight fight in Bandar Kuching. 

Sim, also a political secretary to the Chief Minister, polled 12,949 votes against Chong’s 22,901. 

However, the DAP was thrashed in all the six other Chinese-majority seats despite its optimism about gaining more ground in the polls after its unprecedented win of six seats in the 2006 state elections. 

Sarawak DAP chairman Richard Wong Ho Leng, also Bukit Assek assemblyman, failed in his second bid to dislodge SUPP’s Datuk Robert Lau Hoi Chew (Deputy Housing and Local Government Minister) in Sibu. 

Among the Barisan veterans who retained their seats are Plantations and Commodities Minister Datuk Peter Chin Fah Kui (Miri), Deputy Foreign Minister Datuk Joseph Salang Gandum (Julau), Deputy Transport Minister Datuk Douglas Uggah Embas (Betong), Deputy Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Joseph Entulu (Selangau), Deputy Regional and Rural Development Minister Datuk Dr Tiki Lafe (Mas Gading) and Works Ministry’s parliamentary secretary Datuk Yong Khoon Seng (Stampin). 

First-timer Datuk Sri Suliaman Abdul Rahman Abdul Taib, son of the Chief Minister, retained the Kota Samarahan seat with a huge majority for the coalition. 

SUPP newcomer Ding Kuong Hiing retained the Sarikei seat for the coalition by just 51 votes.  

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 7
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Across The Star Online

Air Pollutant Index

Highest API Readings

    Select State and Location to view the latest API reading

    Source: Department of Environment, Malaysia