Changes in Barisan’s FT list but Ku Nan is retained

  • Nation
  • Saturday, 23 Feb 2008

KUALA LUMPUR: There are many changes in the Barisan Nasional candidate list for the Federal Territory but Tourism Minister Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Mansor has been retained for his Putrajaya seat.

Tengku Adnan was in a jovial mood when Federal Territory Barisan Nasional chairman Datuk Seri Zulhasnan Rafique announced the list at the coalition’s operations centre in Wangsa Maju here yesterday.

“I was not surprised to be picked again and I am thankful to be given another term. I will continue to serve the people and hope for the same victory as in the 2004 election.”

Also retained to re-contest their seats are Zulhasnan (Setiawangsa), Datuk Seri Shahrizat Abdul Jalil (Lembah Pantai), Datuk Yew Teong Look (Wangsa Maju) and Datuk Tan Chai Ho (Bandar Tun Razak).

Three young leaders have been chosen for the other seats. They are Gerakan deputy youth chief Lim Si Pin to contest in Batu, Titiwangsa Umno division committee member Datuk Aziz Jamaludin Tahir as the candidate for Titiwangsa, and Labuan Umno deputy chief Datuk Yusoff Mahal for Labuan. (For full list of candidates see Metro Central.)

Incumbent Labuan MP Datuk Suhaili Abdul Rahman said he was not contesting this time round because his wife was still in a coma after undergoing cosmetic surgery.

“An MP has to be dedicated to his profession and I am now unable to meet this level of commitment because of my wife, who has been in a coma for a month.

“I had recommended Datuk Yusoff Mahal for this seat and I will continue to support Barisan Nasional, “ he said.

Almost 50% of the Federal Territory Barisan Nasional candidates contesting in the general election are new and young faces.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Across the site