Sultan of Terengganu elected next Agong

  • Nation
  • Friday, 03 Nov 2006

Sultan of Terengganu

KUALA LUMPUR: The Sultan of Terengganu, Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin ibni AlMarhum Sultan Mahmud AlMuktafi Billah Shah was elected the 13th Yang di-Pertuan Agong.  

The five-year term will be effective from Dec 13, Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi said in a statement on Friday. 

He will succeed present Yang diPertuan Agong, Tuanku Syed Sirajuddin Syed Putra Jamalullail of Perlis. 

Abdullah said the Conference of Rulers, at its 208th meeting on Friday also agreed to proclaim the Sultan of Kedah, Tuanku Alhaj Abdul Halim Mu'adzam Shah ibni AlMarhum Sultan Badlishah as the Timbalan Yang di-Pertuan Agong, also for a five-year term, with effect from the same date. 

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Next In Nation

Smoked out: Cops cripple syndicate targeting car exhausts, 15 arrested
Cops to extend remand of TV personality held for alleged rape
Sheraton move happened because Azmin wanted to be PM, Dr M alleges
Diving activities allowed to resume in Sabah, says Masidi
Covid-19: Three new clusters identified, five ended, says Health Ministry
Illegal scrap metal factory in Simpang Pulai issued with stop work order
Limbawang river clean-up expected to reduce flood risk in the area, says Klias rep
Kota Baru 'Gold rush': Jewellery shop owners, patrons issued compounds for flouting CMCO
Salesman claims trial to drink-driving, causing factory operator's death
Road rage: Fight leaves one bloodied in Bangsar

Stories You'll Enjoy