Samy names his team for the CWC

  • Nation
  • Tuesday, 30 May 2006

KUALA LUMPUR: MIC president Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu has named his team for the party’s 23-seat central working committee (CWC), who will join his preferred deputy president and three vice-presidents in the leadership. 

The party has 19 state assemblymen and nine MPs, but none of the state representatives are in the president’s list for deputy or vice president.  

Samy Vellu is backing Datuk G. Palanivel, one of the incumbent vice-presidents, as his deputy, and secretary-general Datuk S. Sothinathan, as one of the three vice-presidents.  

The others are incumbents Datuk S. Veerasingam and Tan Sri K.S. Nijhar. 

Palanivel, Sothinathan and Veerasingam are deputy ministers. 

A senior party official said most of the state assemblymen are expected to file their nomination papers for the CWC on June 4. The elections will be held on June 24. 

It has always been the practice of the president to put up a team he thinks would be able to work with the party leadership to implement programmes for the improvement of the Indian community. 

Samy Vellu said the team he had named, with most of the incumbents retained, would be able to work with the party leadership. 

“There is a mixture of state executive councillors, MPs, Senators and state assemblymen in the CWC,” he told reporters. 

He will introduce his team members during his campaign trail through all the states in the peninsula from next week. 

Samy Vellu said 21 of the current batch of elected CWC members would be retained. 

Datuk M. Sellathevan and S.P. Manivasagam of Selangor have been excluded. 

Sri Andalas state assemblyman Kamala Ganapathy and Segamat MP Dr S. Subramaniam are expected to be their replacements in the president’s CWC team. 

Under the MIC constitution, the president can appoint nine other members to the party’s highest decision-making body. 

A party official said the president might reappoint Manivasagam. 

He said the contest for the CWC could not be left “open” as those who do not hold any positions now might come in and “upset the administration and functions of the party”. 

“The president had wanted to allow for an open contest for the CWC but many felt that it would be too risky and had urged him to reconsider his decision,” the official said. 

Meanwhile, about 30 others are also expected to vie for seats in the CWC. 

They include M & A Securities senior vice president S. Paramasivam, Bukit Bintang MIC division secretary V.M. Gunasegaran, assistant secretary James Selvaraj, Jempol division chairman T. Mariyayee and seventh time contestant S.V.S. Velu. 

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Across The Star Online