Niece heads NS honours list

  • Nation
  • Tuesday, 19 Jul 2005

SEREMBAN: Tunku Datuk Seri Puteri Intan Safinaz Tuanku Sultan Abdul Halim Mu’adzam Shah heads the state honours list in conjunction with the 83rd birthday of the Negri Sembilan Yang di-Pertuan Besar Tuanku Ja’afar Tuanku Abdul Rahman today. 

She will be conferred the Darjah Kerabat Yam Tuan Raden – the second highest award in the state – reserved only for royalty of Raja Raden descent. 

Puteri Intan Safinaz, the youngest daughter of the Sultan of Kedah, is a niece of Tuanku Ja'afar. 

Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak is the sole recipient of the Darjah Seri Utama Negri Sembilan (SPNS), which carries the title Datuk Seri Utama. 

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s wife Datin Paduka Seri Endon Mahmood and army chief Jen Datuk Seri Abdul Aziz Zainal will be awarded the Darjah Seri Paduka Tuanku Ja’afar Yang Amat Terpuji (SPTJ), which carries the title Datuk Seri.  

A total of 24 people will be conferred the Darjah Datuk Setia Negri Sembilan (DSNS), and 34 the Darjah Datuk Paduka Tuanku Ja’afar (DPTJ). Both carry the title Datuk. 

Among those to be awarded the DSNS are state secretary Datuk Abdullah Sani Abdul Hamid, first-term exco member Jamlus Aziz, Kuala Pilah MP Datuk Hasan Malek, Rahang assemblyman Yip Chee Kiong, political secretary to Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Yunus Rahmat, Selangor police chief Deputy Comm Yahaya Udin and Kuala Lumpur Mayor Datuk Ruslin Hasan.  

Among the DPTJ recipients are Tuanku Ja’afar’s art tutor Karl-Friedrich Bendlin, state financial officer Norzam Mohd Nor, state deputy police chief Senior Asst Comm II Abdul Majid Abdullah, state Islamic Affairs Department director Zaharudin Mohd Shariff, state Health director Dr Rosnah Ismail and state Customs director Ismail Ibrahim. 

Also to be awarded the DPTJ are Shaw Brothers director Ahmad Mahmood, dramatist Faridah Merican, AirAsia Sdn Bhd chief executive officer Tony Fernandes, Matrix Concepts Holdings Bhd executive director Lee Tian Hock, Celcom chief operations officer Zubir Abdul Rashid, and former national athletes Nashatar Singh Modan Singh and James Selvaraj Joseph. 

Thirty-five people will be awarded the Darjah Setia Negri Sembilan (DNS). 

Among the 21 people appointed Justices of Peace (JP) are Gemencheh assemblyman Mohd Kamil Abdul Aziz, Bagan Pinang assemblyman Faizal Ramli, Rasah Umno division secretary Hanapi Daing Dalisang and Jelebu district councillor Hoong Sem. 

Sessions Court judge Mohd Zaki Abdul Wahab, Tampin OCPD Supt Zull Aznam Haron, Jempol OCPD Supt Meyor Hamdan Meyor Mohamad, Seremban police district management head Deputy Supt Mohd Aris Ahmad, state Immigration director Zahari Abdul Aziz, state Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs director Mohd Aris Ariffin and Negri Sembilan Press Club president Razali Pilus are among the 160 people awarded the Ahli Setia Negri Sembilan (ANS).  

Basir Razak, who was shot while going to the aid of his neighbours during a robbery in Nilai, is the sole recipient of the Pingat Keberanian Cemerlang (PKC). 

Utusan Malaysia bureau chief Zalina Yahya and Guang Ming Daily reporter Pang Swee Hong are among the 326 recipients of the Pingat Khidmat Cemerlang Masyarakat (PMC).  

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Across the site