Tanah Merah picks veep candidates

  • Nation
  • Sunday, 05 Sep 2004

TANAH MERAH: The Tanah Merah Umno division has nominated Datuk Mustapa Mohamed, Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin and Tan Sri Muhammad Muhamad Taib for the Umno vice-presidency in the party's elections on Sept 23.  

It was the last division in Kelantan to hold its delegates conference. 

The division also nominated Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak who won uncontested the posts of Umno president and deputy president respectively. 

The Tanah Merah division could not hold its delegates conference between July 8 and July 22 due to several problems at branch level. 

The division has 103 branches. 

The conference was held at SM Teknik Tanah Merah here yesterday.  

Datuk Hashim Safin won uncontested the post of division chief.  

The post of deputy division chief was won by Nik Kemarulzaman Sulong who contested against Datuk Mohd Supardi Md Noor. 

Zakaria Hamat defeated Baharuddin Yusoff and Mohd Amil Mohd Arifin for the post of vice-head. – Bernama  

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Across the site