Arulthevar retains title by only one second

  • Nation
  • Monday, 04 Aug 2003


SUBANG JAYA: Top runner M. Arulthevar pipped A. Munusamy at the finishing line by just a second to win his fourth consecutive men’s Open title in the Subang Jaya 10km Run, which saw a record turnout yesterday. 

Arulthevar, 25, clocked 34 minutes and six seconds to win the race at the Subang Jaya Municipal Council (MPSJ) complex in USJ5 here.  

Former national runner Devamani Sothee clocked 41 minutes and 47 seconds to win the women’s Open category. 

SYMBOLIC START:Fong flagging off the participants at the Subang Jaya 10km Run yesterday.Almost 6,000 runnerstook part in the event despite the threat of rain.

This year’s run drew almost 6,000 runners, a record turnout for this event, which began in 2000.  

The runners competed in 11 categories for distances of 10km, seven kilometres and five kilometres. There was also a three-kilometre VIP Fun Run. 

“Even though I won by a narrow margin, I feel happy to win this race as everybody knows about the Subang Jaya Run,” said Arulthevar. 

The threat of rain did not stop the runners from coming.  

There was also an aikido demonstration, the sale of cookies, newspapers and magazines, cheerleading and entertainment by the MPSJ combo.  

WINNERS ALL:(From left)Prakash Kumar,Munusamy and Arulthevar displaying their trophies. Sharing in their joy are MPSJ president Abdul Hakim Borhan,Lee and Star Publications (M)Bhd general manager Koh Beng Huat.

Human Resources Minister Datuk Dr Fong Chan Onn flagged off the runners at 7.30am.  

Selangor exco member Datuk Mohd Mokhtar Ahmad Dahalan gave away the prizes. 

Organising chairman Datuk Lee Hwa Beng, who is also Subang Jaya assemblyman, said he was very happy with the turnout, adding that he hoped next year’s event would draw more outstation runners. 

The run was jointly organised by The Star, MPSJ and the Selangor Amateur Athletic Association.  

The main sponsors were Milo, Digi, 100 Plus and HSBC.  



Men’s Open: 1. M. Arulthevar 34:06; 2. A. Munusamy 34:07; 3. Prakash Kumar 35:25 

TRIUMPHANT TRIO:(From left)Selvanayagi,Foo Chee Yean and Kushalani Sassie showing themedals they won in the girls' category.

Women’s Open: 1. Devamani Sothee 41:47; 2. Magdalene Wong Mei Ling 43:37; 3. Amutha Arumugam 44:28 

Men’s Junior Veteran: 1. Ramakrishnan Manikam 23:15; 2. R. Nanchappan Rajagopla 24:50; 3. G. Supermaniam 25:43 

Men’s Senior Veteran: 1. Balakrishnan Perumal 26:10; 2. Mohd Yasan Rahmin 26:14; 3. P. Madasamy 27:48 

Women’s Veteran: 1. Komala Devi Kulanthai 29:28; 2. Lee Shew Keng 32:08; 3. Angie Ng Yoke Har 34:20 

Boys: 1. R. Venugopal 22:36; 2. Samuel John Moses 22:42; 3. Balu Muniandy 24:27 

Girls: 1. Kushalani Sassie 29:51; 2. Foo Chee yean 31:08; 3. Selvanayagi 32:25 

Men’s Special (wheelchair): 1. Mat Sani Kasbun 21:22; 2. Azmi Zain 23:32; 3. Anthony Martin 25:34 

Women’s Special (wheelchair): 1. Choo Mei Sia; 2. Azizah Mat; 3. Nor Saadah Abd Wahab. 

Men’s Special (non-wheelchair): 1. Shamsul Muhamad; 2. David Loh Kiyah Min; 3. Sangkaran Gunasekaran 

Women’s Special (non-wheelchair): 1. Kelly Koh; 2. Lim Pim Ying; 3. Rozlina Abdul Razak. 

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Across the site