New Sabah Cabinet to be sworn in today

  • Nation
  • Tuesday, 01 Apr 2003


KOTA KINABALU: Chief Minister Datuk Musa Aman’s new state Cabinet line-up will be sworn in today before the Yang di-Pertua Negri Tun Ahmadshah Abdullah at Istana Negri here. 

Political observers see few changes in the 11-member line-up but expect portfolio switches.Musa, who paid a courtesy call on Acting Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi at Putrajaya yesterday, has himself maintained that there would be minimal changes to the Cabinet line-up of former chief minister Datuk Chong Kah Kiat. 

Musa was sworn in as Sabah’s 13th Chief Minister on March 27. 

Many political observers expect him to retain most members of the former Cabinet so as not to “rock the boat” ahead of the state elections due before March next year. 

“We will leave it to his (Musa) discretion to make the changes.  

“Any changes will take into consideration the people’s aspirations and the coming state elections,” said Sabah Barisan Nasional secretary-general Datuk Karim Bujang. 

Speculations are rife that Musa may replace some of the three incumbent deputy chief ministers by relegating them to ministerial posts while promoting others. 

The current deputy chief ministers are Datuk Lajim Ukin (Umno), Datuk Tham Nyip Shen (Sabah Progressive Party) and Datuk Wences Anggang (United Pasok Momogun Kadazusun Murut Organisation). 

Musa is also widely anticipated to retain the Finance portfolio while retaining Chong (LDP) in the Tourism, Environment, Science and Technology Ministry.  

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Across the site