MIC sees major leadership changes in KL divisions

  • Nation
  • Sunday, 30 Mar 2003


KUALA LUMPUR: Federal Territory MIC grassroots members voted for change when they elected new faces to lead in half of the10 divisions in recent elections. 

Its secretary M. Saravanan said among the incumbents who suffered shock defeats were former state secretary K. Rajandran who lost by 10 votes to V. Raju in Segambut and A. Anthony Dass who lost to R. Narayanan in Lembah Pantai. 

Other new faces were V. Thanakody (Wangsa Maju) and S. Thanabalan (Kepong) while central working committee (CWC) member Datuk Chandrasekhar Suppiah took over the Bandar Tun Razak division from his father, V. Suppiah. 

“This is the first time that such major changes have been made in the divisions.  

“It shows that members want changes,” Saravanan said, adding that the meetings proceeded smoothly.  

The big names who were returned unopposed were MIC deputy president Datuk S. Subramaniam (Seputeh), Saravanan (Titiwangsa), Datuk V. K. K. Teagarajan (Bukit Bintang), P. Perukarupan (Cheras) and C. Ramanathan (Batu). 

The Federal Territory is under the chairmanship of MIC president Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu.  

In Bukit Mertajam, incumbent R. Murugiah held off his challenger M. Muniandy after S. Krishnan withdrew from the race to support Muniandy. 

Incumbent P. Muniandy won in Jelutong while M. Ngnasegaran took over as the Bayan Baru division chief from M. Gunasegaran. 

In Malacca, state chairman Datuk R. Raghavan, who is also the state executive councillor, was returned unopposed in Selandar. 

Incumbent M. Mahadevan held off V. Elango in Batu Berendam while secretary S. Periyamalai overcame Joseph Ehgambaram in Jasin. 

In Johor, state MIC chairman Datuk K.S. Balakrishnan was returned unopposed in Gelang Patah while state secretary R. Sinnaiyah was uncontested in Johor Baru. 

The others who were returned unopposed were N. Nagalingam (Mersing), Jasbir Singh (Pontian), Tan Sri G. Pasamanickam (Muar), A. Subbiah (Kota Tinggi), T. Velayutham (Sri Gading), P. Krishnan (Tenggaroh), S. Krishnasamy (Labis), M. Ganapathy (Kluang), A. Singgatore (Bakri) and S. Thasarathan (Parit Sulong). 

Six incumbents who won after being challenged were A. Allimuthu (Sungai Benut), A. Nadarajah (Segamat), V. Kanesan (Pegoh), A. Somu (Batu Pahat), M. Suryanarayanan (Tebrau) and S. Ramalingam (Pulai). 

The Pahang and Perak divisions are scheduled to hold their meetings this weekend.  

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Across The Star Online