Selangor committed to doing well

THE Selangor Hockey Association (SHA) are grateful to sponsors for supporting their development and training programmes.

SHA president Datuk Sri Subahan Kamal said Selangor, despite not having a turf, had made a big impact in local hockey competitions in the last six months.

“It is a remarkable feat. We have to thank our sponsors — Global Specialty Ingredients (GSI) and Privasia Technology — for supporting us,” said Subahan.

“We certainly appreciate their contributions, which had played a key role in our success,’’

Selangor were the champions in the National Under-16 Indoor championships, for three straight years, National Under-16 championships, National Under-21 championships, for the first time, and Division Two champions in the Razak Cup.

The SHA hosted a get together to thank the sponsors as well as reward the players for their impressive results.

Subahan said they had also invited the parents to join the celebrations.

“We appreciate the support from parents. Without them, ut is not possible for us to implement the training and development programmes,’’ said Subahan.

He also announced the Selangor team for the Malaysia Games in Kangar. SHA secretary P. Kuganesan, who is also the assistant team manager, said they were looking forward to the Malaysia Games with confidence.

“We have assembled a strong team. Most of the players have been with us since their junior days.

“They have mature and determined to put up a strong claim for the place in the final,’’ said Kuganesan.

In the Malaysia Games, Selangor are drawn in Group B with Kuala Lumpur, Malacca, Negri Sembilan, Penang, Kelantan and Sarawak.

Group A has Terengganu, Perlis, Johor, Sabah, Pahang and Perak.

After the preliminary rounds, the top two teams from each group will advance to the semi-finals.

“Kuala Lumpur, Malacca and Negri Sembilan are considered the big guns. But based on the players’ progress in training and friendly matches, we have reasons to be optimistic. Our target is to qualify for the semi-finals,’’ said Kuganesan.

The squad
Players :
Muhammad Hassan Suherman, Nur Amirul Syamin Khalid, Nor Nashriq Farhan Nor Azmin, Muhammad Asyraf Faizin Mohd Hasni, Harmesh Singh, Mohamad Helmi Jaafar, Muhamad Syawal Zakaria, Zulpidaus Mizun, Mohd Khairul Ikhwan Mohd Shubudin, Faiq Razin Zariq Idris, Mohammad Hafif Elkan Nordin, Muhammad Faizzil Zairollail, Muhammad Haikal Zamri, Muhammad Nor Ikhwan Nor Rahman, Nazirul Mubin Zebidi, Muhammad Faris Rosmi, Amir Zulkarnain Ahmad Robangi, Muhammad Zamri Muhammad Zainal.

Officials : Zainal Abidin Ismail, P. Kuganesan, Azlansaufi Ahamd Supian, Mohd Harfizi Baharom, Ikmal Abdul Jabar, Norazizah Mukijan, Noor Azman Surudh Ali, Mohd Shahrul Nizam Mohd Isa.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Sport , hockey


Others Also Read