State bodybuilders prove they are a force to be reckoned with in Mr Gym 1Malaysia

HAVING just less than one week to prepare after a major tournament proves to be no problem at all for Sarawak bodybuilders to come out tops at this year’s Mr Gym 1Malaysia national level championship in Selangor.

Fresh from competing in the inaugural Mr Benak in Sri Aman on Oct 19, the quartet of Malvern Abdullah, Sharafuddin Samuri, Wilfred Harding and Awang Mohd Azizul Ghani brought the state challenge to The Mines Seri Kembangan a week later and emerged among the top five in their respective categories.

For Malvern especially, it was sweet victory.

“In Mr Benak, I finished behind champion Firman Raynar in the Open Under-70kg. This time, I managed to beat him in the Under-65kg event,” the three-time Mr Sarawak told The Star in Kuching.

However, he admitted to feeling rather nervous prior to the announcement of the results.

“The competition was terribly tough. Firman seemed to be in his best shape; better than he was in Benak, I must say. Moreover I was anxious when I got to the Champion of Champions round, being on stage with Mr ATM Lightweight titleholder Zainal Arif and also the young Muhamad Roszaimi Abdul Rani, who placed second in the Junior 60kg category of Mr Asia last month.

“At the same time, I was proud to have made it to the grand showdown. It was an indescribable feeling to be on stage with these world-class bodybuilders.”

Pitted against champs: Azizul placed fourth in the 65-75kg category.

For Wilfred, who finished third in the same category as Malvern, he did not even think that he would qualify for the finals.

“It was a tough fight, me as a greenhorn against other more seasoned contenders. So being the second runner-up was definitely a big thing for me,” said the teacher of SMK Serian, who was this year’s state-level Mr Gym 1Malaysia champion.

Meanwhile, the national outing was a family affair as far as Sharafuddin was concerned. The Kelantan-born bodybuilder who now resides in Kuching, was thrilled not only to have placed second in the Over-75kg category but also to be in the same competition with his younger brother Syahmi, who competed in the New Faces and Junior event.

“I am proud of Syahmi. At the Malaysia Games in Kuala Lumpur this year, he finished second in the 65-70kg category. Too bad he didn’t make it to the finals in Mr Gym 1Malaysia but I’m sure there will be more of him in the future,” he said, adding that another brother Syafiq was also into the sport.

On his next target, Sharafuddin would be eyeing to have a go at international competitions going forward.

“I would if given the chance. So far many of Malaysian bodybuilders who have made it internationally are either from the Armed Forces or the Police, like Sazali Abdul Samad and Buda Anchah.

“If I have the opportunity to represent Malaysia, I would definitely go for it.”

Thrilled : Wilfred is happy with his feat at this year’s Mr Gym 1Malaysia.

The Mr Gym 1Malaysia championship was held as sidelines to this year’s National Fitness Carnival and the 4th Malaysia Sports Trend and Games Expo in Seri Kembangan, Selangor.

Organised by the Youth and Sports Ministry in collaboration with Malaysian Bodybuilding Federation and Malaysia Muscle as the official website, participants were selected from gyms registered under “Gym 1Malaysia” in their respective states.

Hosts Selangor emerged overall champions with two gold medals and one bronze, followed by Sarawak with one gold, one silver and one bronze, Johor (one gold and two bronze) and Pahang (one gold).

Sabah, Kuala Lumpur, Kelantan and Malacca gained one silver each while Perak took home one bronze.


Champion of Champions

Zainal Arif

New Faces

1. Primus Kajuice (Selangor)

2. Mohd Rapis Musa (Kuala Lumpur)

3. Zamri Senin (Perak)

4. Zulfaddlee Mond Ani (Johor)

5. Ismail Abdullah (Perak)


1. Muhamad Roszaimi Abdul Rani (Pahang)

2. Mohd Uzair (Kelantan)

3. Mohd Naim Ponngoh (Johor)

4. Amsyar Anaqie (Terengganu)

5. Mohd Saiful (Johor)


1. Malvern Abdullah (Sarawak)

2. Firman Raynar (Malacca)

3. Wilfred Harding (Sarawak)

4. Zmarul Al Adam (Kuala Lumpur)

5. A Suhaimi (Kuala Lumpur)


1. Zainal Arif (Johor)

2. Hendro Lee (Sabah)

3. Ismail Hamid (Johor)

4. Awang Mohd Azizul Ghani (Sarawak)

5. Mior Mohd Fairuz (Perak)


1. Abdul Mutalib (Selangor)

2. Sharafuddin Samuri (Sarawak)

3. Mohd As-Siddiq (Selangor)

4. Yaacob Ali (Johor)

5. Noramin Ismail (Kelantan)

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Stories You'll Enjoy