Sky’s the limit for club

SKY Badminton Club (SBC) have retained the Dr Sundra Rajan challenge trophy.

They played to a 2-1 victory over Luster Badminton Club (LBC) in the final of the Kedah-Yonex senior inter-team badminton competition at the Kedah BA hall.

This is SBC’s sixth win in the past seven years and their fourth consecutive victory in the series.

In a repeat of last year’s final against LBC of Sungei Petani, the defending champions won both the doubles matches to enable them to retain the challenge trophy for another year.

SBC went into an early lead by wrapping up the first doubles in double quick time.

Tan Wei Meng and Goh Juan Hao had no difficulties brushing aside Ee Chang Min and Cho Sea Keong 21-17 and 21-9 in just eighteen minutes for their first point.

LBC levelled the score by winning the singles match via Andrew Liw Cheng Zhau who overcame Ng Wei Khai of SBC in three hard-fought games.

Liw won the first game quite easily at 21-13 but found the going tough when Wei Khai rallied to win the second game at 22-20.

This forced the game to go into a rubber.

At one stage in the deciding third game, Liw led comfortably at 18-13 but Wei Khai fought back to close the gap to 20-18.

Liw eventually wrapped up the game and the match in his second match point at 21-19 to level the tie at one-all.

His victory proved to be all in vain as SBC proved too powerful in the deciding third match.

SBC’s doubles combination of Quah Aun Yang and Tan Chee Tean easily powered their way to victory over LBC’s Edmund Loh Han Voon and Yew Choon Aun.

The SBC pair won 21-8, 22-20 and thus, helped the club to the title by two matches to one.

Earlier in the semi-finals, SBC defeated Lee Sports Club 2-0 while LBC edged out Golden Eagle (Gold) by 2-1.

Competition committee chairman Chin Yoon Foo presented the prizes to the winners.

The champions received a challenge trophy and each player took home a Yonex racket and a trophy while the losing finalists received a Yonex bag and a trophy each.



Sky BC 2 Lee Sports Club 0, Luster BC 2 Golden Eagle (Gold) 1.


Sky BC 2 Luster BC 1 (Sky names first): Tan Wei Meng-Goh Jian Hao bt Ee Chang Min-Cho Sea Keong 21-17, 21-9.

Ng Wei Khai lost to Andrew Liw Cheng Zhau 13-21, 22-20, 19-21.

Quah Aun Yang-Tan Chee Tean bt Edmund Loh Han Voon-Yew Choon Aun 21-8, 22-20.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Stories You'll Enjoy