Honouring those who do Perak proud

  • Community
  • Friday, 09 Jun 2006

ABOUT 400 students who excelled in sports in 2004 and last year at various levels were rewarded by the Perak Schools Sports Council during an incentive award ceremony in Ipoh recently. 

Perak Education director Datuk Mohamed Zakaria Mohd Nor told the gathering that in 2004, the pupils bagged 34 gold, 31 silver and 45 bronze medals at the Malaysian Schools Athletics Championships (MSSM). 

And last year, the Perak contigent showed tremendous improvement with a haul of 46 gold, 44 silver and 61 bronze medals. 

“The gold haul last year can be considered a very extensive achievement by our athletes.” 

WELL DONE:Swimmer Kevin Yeap receiving a certificate of achievement from Zakaria.

Elaborating further, he said that in 2004, Perak also did extremely well in individual sports. 

A total of 19 students amassed 30 gold medals from disciplines like badminton, archery, gymnastics, tenpin bowling, swimming, diving and optimist sailing. 

Last year, the gold medal collection from individual sports was also 30 but from 17 students only.  

Mohamed Zakaria said such achievements are proof that there are no lack of talents in Perak. 

“I am convinced that sports in Perak can improve further if all those involved continue to work harder,” he added. 

The incentive recipients are: 



Badminton – Ng Su Tien (Ave Maria Convent, Ipoh) 

Athletics – Fauziah Abdul Razak (SMK Gunung Rapat, Ipoh), K. Amran Raj (Bukit Jalil Sports School), C. Magenthiran (Bukit Jalil Sports School), Siti Maimunah Satar (SMK Besout, Sungkai), Khairul Ikhsan Kamal Bashan (Bukit Jalil Sports School). 

Archery – Mohd Nor Ezwan Omar (SMK Tun Sabah, Pengkalan Hulu), Mohd Wira Julaihi (Bukit Jalil Sports School). 

Gymnastics – Wan Serkawi Wan Zahri (King Edward Vll (l), Taiping), Chan Chong Yuan (SK St George, Taiping). 

Bowling – Sin Li Jane (SJKC Sam Chai, Ipoh), Foo Yong Lin (SMK Sam Tet, Ipoh), Loh Joo Kit (SMK Sam Tet, Ipoh), Equine Lam Wai Lih (St. Michael (1), Ipoh). 

Swimming – Lau Zheng Fong (SJKC Pasir Pinji, Ipoh), Kimberly Lim Yanli (SK (P) Methodist, Ipoh), Chuah Jia Ping (SMK Hua Lian, Taiping), Aileen Tan Al Lyn (SMK Ave Maria Convent, Ipoh). 

Diving – Cheong Jun Hoong (Bukit Jalil Sports School). 

Optimist Sailing – Nurul Elia Anuar (SMK Pangkalan TLDM, Lumut). 


Badminton – Chan Kwong Beng (Bukit Jalil Sports School). 

Cross country – M. Vadivellan (Methodist High Scool, Ipoh). 

Bowling – Nur Farah Asyiqin Rashid (SK Raja Perempuan, Ipoh). 

Athletics – Saiful Anwar Sham-suddin (SMK Besout, Sungkai), M. Vadivellan (Methodist High School, Ipoh), Noor Amira Mohd Nafiah (Bukit Jalil Sports School), S. Sivam (SMK Tok Perdana, Sitiawan). 

Gymnastics – Wan Serkawi Wan Zahri (SK King Edward Vll (l), Taiping), Yee Zhuangzi (SMK Hua Lian, Taiping). 

Swimming – Finsen Soo Neng Shun (SMK Air Tawar, Sitiawan), Kimnerly Lim Yanli (SK (P) Methodist, Ipoh), Cheng Karmen (SJKC Ave Maria Convent, Ipoh), Lau Zheng Fong (SMK Gunung Rapat, Ipoh), Kevin Yeap (SMK Sam Tet, Ipoh). 

Diving – Cheong Jun Hoong (Bukit Jalil Sports School). 

Table tennis – See Yin Jia (SJKC Gunung Rapat, Ipoh). 

Archery – Mcham Nong Saritha (Bukit Jalil Sports School). 

Squash – Cheong Kah Wah (SJKC Sam Tet, Ipoh).  

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Across the site