Big turnout of students

  • Community
  • Thursday, 28 Jul 2005

THE big turnout of students for the Power 10Km Run at Dataran Merdeka last Sunday has prompted the organisers to look into the possibility of organising more events for them. 

Bata Malaysia managing director Marcello Pace said he was impressed by the enthusiasm shown by the students, who represented 40% of the participants.  

“Despite a drizzle, they came here as early as 5am. We have to look into ways to initiate more programmes for them.  

“It was an enjoyable morning for me. I had the opportunity to meet the youngsters and get their views as well,” said Pace. 

Bata Malaysia Power brand manager Datuk James Selvaraj said the participation of students had increased.  

Datuk Ong Tee Keat (second from right) starting off the Power 10km Run while Marcello Pace looks on.

“We even had participants from Ipoh and Cameron Highlands. Some of them did well. We want to keep their enthusiasm going. We hope to organise an inter-school relay,” said Selvaraj. 

Teacher R. Gopal said he was happy to see more students involved in running. 

“I accompanied 40 students to this run. Our students certainly had a good time. The number could have been more if not for the rain,” added Gopal. 

The run, flagged off by deputy Sports Minister Datuk Ong Tee Keat, drew about 4,000 participants. 

As expected, internationals M. Arulthevar and Yuan Yufang won the men's and women's titles respectively. 

Arulthevar, representing Kuala Lumpur City Hall-Nike, clocked 34:37 while Kajang's S. Ganesan and Pulapol's Samuel John Moses were second and third respectively in 35:08 and 36:36. 

Arulthevar, who won the title for the sixth consecutive year, said: ”It was a tough race. The other runners kept up with me until the last turn to the finishing line.”  

Arul took home RM1,000, a trophy and a pair of Power shoes for his efforts. 

Yufang crossed the finishing line in 41:35, almost two minutes ahead of second-placed Vally Michael.  






Senior: 1. M. Arulthevar (KL City Hall-Nike) 34:37; 2. S. Ganeson (Kajang) 35:08; 3. Samuel John Moses (Pupapol) 36:36. 

Junior veteran: 1. M. Ramakrishnan (Team Adidas) 39:13; 2. Iwata Takatoshi (Japan) 40:15; 3. R. Nanchappan (Team Adidas) 40:3. 

Senior veteran: 1. S. Appaman 927:43; S. Toiahlan 28:30; 3. Mohamed Yasin Rahmin 28:50. 

Junior: 1 James Ramis (SMK Tengku Idris Shah) 25:28; 2. S. Ganesh Kumar (Pahang) 26:07; 3. V. Thirumurugan (SMK Kapar) 26:15. 

Schoolboys: 1. B. Thanesan (SMK Seri Garing) 20:49; 2. M. Sathurmugan (SMK Kg Raja Cameron Highland) 22:02; 3. S. Anbarasan (SMK Bukit Jalil) 22:21. 




Senior: 1. Yuan Yufang (Team Nike) 41:45; 2. Vally Micheal (Team Nike) 43:10; Norlida Ismail (Team Nike) 44:27. 

Veteran: 1. S. Devamani (Team Power) 30:23; 2. G. Susila (Team Brooks) 33:05; 3. Eng Seok Ling (Pacesetters) 35:13 

Junior: 1. Emley Gaem (BJSS) 32:59; 2. Siti Norlizawati Mat Kamal (Pahang) 33:02; 3. Zalina Rasidi (SMK Raja Perempuan) 35:44. 

Schoolgirls: 1. V. Durgavani (Team Power) 25:58 ; 2. R. Parameswari (Team Power) 27:35; 3. R. Buvaneswary (Team Power) 27:55. 

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Across the site