Local and Brunei bodybuilders stand strong to compete against each other

  • Scoreboard
  • Tuesday, 15 Aug 2017

Awang receiving his prize from Lau in the 70kg and above category.

SIBU: National bodybuilder Awang Mohd Azizul stole the show at the Men of Hammer Physique and Bodybuilding Championship 2017 by winning the main category – the above 70kg.

The annual championship organised by Solid Gym took place on Saturday night and it saw a total of 47 contestants from Brunei, Kuala Lumpur and throughout the state competing in five categories.

Awang, the 2016 Mr Asia champion for the welterweight category, was the favourite for the title.

It was no surprise that he won despite the strong pool of contestants from Brunei, Kuching, Miri and Sibu pitting against him.

He is also the 2016 Mr Universe champion.

“I was confident of winning tonight. This victory is an inspiration for me to do well again in defending my Mr Asia title which will be held on Aug 20 in Seoul, Korea,” he said in jest.

Awang, 32, from Kuching, was confident that he would win the title for his state and country.

“My target is to win gold and nothing less at Mr Asia,” he added.

He is in top form. Just last week, he won the Mr Boulevard Bodybuilding championship in Kuching for the same category.

Azahar Mahamad of Bukit Aman Gym, Kuala Lumpur came in second while Noel Ting of Solid Gym took third place.

For local seasoned bodybuilder Allen Nee, winning two titles was unexpected.

Nee, 38, took home the Men’s Physique category for Solid Gym members only and the Men’s Physique Open (Above 170cm) category.

“I was only expecting to win the category for the Solid Gym members only and not the open category as the contestants from Brunei and Kuching are all very tough,” he said.

Nee, who is a foodstuff seller, said he was not intimidated by the competition and gave his best in the open category title.

“I have been preparing for this championship for five months, pumping iron six days a week in the gym except Sunday,” said Nee who took up the sport 11 years ago.

Brunei, who had 15 contestants competing in all the five categories, won only one title – the Men’s Physique Open (170cm and below) – through brawny Mohammad Shahrun Nizam.

Speaking at the opening of the championship, Chinese community leader Temenggong Vincent Lau commended Solid Gym for gathering all the top bodybuilders for the event.

Lau, whose speech was read out by his son Kelvin Lau, said bodybuilding as a sport promoted mental and physical health as well as discipline.

“I hope it can become an enduring sport in Brunei and Malaysia,” he added.


Men’s Physique Solid Gym

1. Allen Nee
2. Alfie Khan
3. Leslie Lau Lik Min

Men’s Physique Open
(170cm and below)
1. Mohammad Shahrun Nizam (Brunei)
2. Faizal Mustapha (Bintulu)
3. Faisal Mohammad (Brunei)

Men’s Physique Open
(Above 170cm)

1. Allen Nee (Sibu)
2. Mohammad Amirul Mukminin (Brunei)
3. Alfie Khan (Sibu)

Men’s Bodybuilding
(70kg and below)

1. Malvern Abdullah (Kuching)
2. Joseph Ladi (Kuching)
3. Wilfred Harding (Kuching)

Men’s Bodybuilding
(70kg and above)

1. Awang Mohd Azizul (Kuching)
2. Azahar Mahamd (KL)
3. Noel Ting (Sibu)


Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Across The Star Online