Record number of schools to compete in rugby tournament

  • Scoreboard
  • Monday, 27 Feb 2017

The 2015 Under-17 champions VI will be looking to make a comeback this year.

THIS year’s Victoria Institution (VI) Premier 10s Rugby Tournament will see a record 48 school teams, including those from neighbouring countries, battling for the honours in this prestigious school-level tournament.

The tournament is currently the only such competition to be sanctioned by Malaysian Rugby Union (MRU).

The ninth edition of this rugby tournament is set to take place on April 1 and 2 at the VI Green in Jalan Hang Tuah, Kuala Lumpur.

Participating teams will be divided into two categories – Under-15 and Under-17.

The winning Under-17 team will get to hoist the 24-karat gold-plated G.E.D. Lewis Challenge Cup, named after one of the school’s principals who had steered the school to various accolades including rugby.

Victoria Institution Rugby Club (VIRC) president Nik Sidek Nik Jaffar, who is also chairman of this year’s VI Premier 10s, said teams that had confirmed their participation in this year’s tournament included RMC, KGV, SM Sains Hulu Selangor, St John’s Institution, Sekolah Dato Abd Razak, SM Sains Tunku Jaafar, Malay College Kuala Kangsar, St Andrew’s Junior College of Singapore, STAR Ipoh, SMS Alam Shah (ASIS), SM Sains Selangor, SM Teknik KL, SBPI Gombak, King Edward VII School of Taiping, SMK Sri Mersing, Malacca High School, Semesta, Intek, Intergrasi Gombak, KL Saracens, KL Tigers, Intergrasi Jempol, SAS Putrajaya, English College JB, Akademi Ragbi Terengganu, Kosas and of course Victoria Institution.

“At this point in time, we are still waiting for Thailand and Indonesia to confirm their participation,” said Nik Sidek.

“The VI Premier 10s, which is co-organised by VIRC and the school itself, is set to unearth more rugby talents at the school level when budding players from the 48 school teams, including those from overseas, display their skills on the field to uphold their school pride,” he added.

The teams will battle it out via a round-robin stage on the first day of the tournament before the qualifying teams go toe-to-toe in the knockout stages on the second day.

The finals for the Shield, Bowl, Plate and Cup groups will be played in the evening of the final day of the tournament.

Last year, Malay College Kuala Kangsar won the U17 category while Sekolah Menengah Sains Hulu Selangor won the U15 category.

“We hope that more rugby enthusiasts, especially parents, will come to VI Green on the day of the tournament to support their favourite teams,” Nik Sidek said, adding that admission is free for all.

The tournament is supported by Privasia, DBKL, the Victoria Institution OId Boys Association (VIOBA) and VIOBA Foundation, and sponsored by Nestle, PRAN, Home Direct, Revive and PSG.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Across the site