UPM duo in fine form

  • Scoreboard
  • Monday, 23 May 2016

There was good support from the crowd who filled up the Perlis Squash Complex.

MOHD Amir Farhan Ampandi and Mithila Tamilarasan made their university – Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM) – proud when they bagged the Men’s and Women’s Division 1 title in contrasting style in the opening leg of the IPT 1Malaysia squash circuit 2016 at the Perlis Squash Complex in Kangar recently.

While 21-year-old Mohd Amir’s win was expected as he was the top seed and a regular in the circuit last year, it was Mithila who stole the limelight with her stunning display of confidence. The 19-year-old lass from Petaling Jaya made her debut and was seeded No 10.

Mohd Amir demolished Fong Min Hong from Universiti Malaya (UM) 11-1, 11-3, 11-2 while Universiti Sains Malaysia’s Muhammad Alamin Kamazahruman edged Ruban Sankaran from UM 11-6, 9-11, 5-11, 11-2, 11-7 to finish third.

Mithila, a first year student pursuing Consumer Studies at UPM, humbled second seed Jamie Kwa of UM 11-7, 11-5, 11-6 to keep a clean slate in the tourney. Gillian Ng (UM) settled for third spot after beating Julia Cheah Kin Yee from Universiti Utara Malaysia 11-9, 11-8, 11-4.

“I trained hard for the tournament both at UPM (with my teammates) and at Astaka courts in PJ on weekends under coaches Calvin Chang and Muzaffar Hussein. I am glad it paid off. The win will definitely boost my confidence for the remaining circuit,” said Mithila, who started playing squash at the age of six with her elder brother Devamuthan during their school days at SJK(T) Vivekananda in Petaing Jaya.

Mohd Amir, a second year Physical Education degree student, could not have asked for a better start.

Winners of all the divisions in a group photo.
Winners of the divisions at the opening leg of the IPT 1Malaysia squash circuit 2016.

“I train whenever I have the time at the Jalan Duta courts. So the result is definitely satisfying,” said Mohd Amir, who emerged winner in the third leg at Bukit Jalil in October and finished second in the Grand Finals at Universiti Malaya in December last year.

Devamuthan, meanwhile, bagged the Men’s Division 2 title with a hard fought 11-9, 15-13, 11-9 win over his UM teammate Raja Mohd Abas Raja Razaman.

The winners received their prizes from Squash Racquets Association of Malaysia (SRAM) vice-president and competition chairman Nik Razeen Daud and UM youth and sports officer Mohd Faris Mahmood.

A total of 145 participants from 15 universities took part in the three-day event.

Mohd Amir (left) and Fong Min in action during the Mens Division 1 final.
Mohd Amir (left) and Min Hong in action during the Mens Division 1 final.

RESULTS (all Finals):

MEN DIV 1 Final: Mohd Amir Farhan Ampandi (UPM) bt Fong Min Hang (UM) 11-1, 11-3, 11-2; 3rd: Muhammad Alamin Kamazahruman (USM) bt Ruban Sankaran (UM) 11-6, 9-11, 5-11, 11-2, 11-7.

DIV 2 Final: T. Devamuthan (UM) bt Raja Mohd Abas Raja Razaman (UM) 11-9, 15-13, 11-9; 3rd: Muhammad Fahmi Hakim (UiTM) bt Mohd Firdaus Mustafa Kamal (UM) 11-9, 11-13, 11-5, 13-11.

DIV 3 Final: Muhammad Zakwan Roslan (UNIMAP) bt Teh Chi Ming (IUKL) 11-1, 11-4, 11-7; 3rd: Lim Kok Ping (UM) bt Desmond Lee Kok How (IUKL) 11-4, 11-7, 11-8.

DIV 4 Final: Mohd Azri Pawan Teh (UUM) bt Sheikh Muhsin Mohamed Dharik (UITM) 11-7, 11-0, 11-0; 3rd: Ahmad Shahril Ramadhan Ahamd Hambali (UNIMAP) bt Muhammad Izwan Hazree Jamaluddin (UNIMAP) 11-8, 11-6, 11-8.


DIV 1 Final: T. Mithila (UPM) bt Jamie Kwa (UM) 11-7, 11-5, 11-6; 3rd: Gillian Ng (UM) bt Julia Cheah Kin Yee (UUM) 11-9, 11-8, 11-4.

DIV 2 Final: Dinitha Kumar (UPM) bt Syazana Syazana Syahirah Salleh (UPSI) 4-11, 11-6, 11-4, 11-3; 3rd: Yvonne Simpanan (UPSI) bt Grace Lim Wei Min (TARUC) 11-9, 11-6, 11-5.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Metro , Sport , Central Region , squash circuit


Across the site