After shining at Penang regatta, 11-year-old talent targets national crown

Kedah’s Shahidatul standing proud among the boys at the KFC-Penang International Open Regatta.

PROMISING lass Shahidatul Atirah Sawal stole the show at the annual KFC-Penang International Open Regatta at the Penang Swimming Club in Tanjung Bungah.

The 11-year-old pupil from SK Kelibang in Pulau Langkawi beat her male rivals to clinch her first gold medal in the Boys’ Open Optimist Division B Under-11 event.

She left Sabahan Muhamed Aiman Adam Mohd Firdaus and Negri Sembilan’s Putera Adrine Danish Mohd Puad trailing in her wake.

She then grabbed her second gold in the Girls’ Optimist event, beating Terengganu’s Al Insyirah Aina Zulkifli and Nur Adlina Nasreen Mohd Nasri of Perlis.

“I worked very hard to make this a reality.

“Having achieved such encouraging results, my next target is to be crowned a national champion before moving on to the international stage,” said Shahidatul.

Penang’s Geh Cheow Lin picked up a bronze in the Race Board event.

The Universiti Sains Malaysia, student who won two silvers for Malaysia in the Singapore SEA Games last year, finished third behind two Terengganu opponents Elfee Shahrizan Alias and Illham Wahab.

She has started her preparations for next year’s SEA Games in Kuala Lumpur and aims to land two gold medals.

Penang Sailing Association president Yunus Jamil was delighted that 172 participants took part in the three-day challenge.

“I’m overwhelmed that we were not only blessed with good weather but also good wind conditions during the competition.

“The competition here is a national ranking event and I am confident that it has served as a good warm-up for those participants who will be heading for the Sarawak Malaysia Games,” said Yunus.

Participants from Australia and the United Kingdom were also in action as part of their preparations for the Rio Olympics later this year.


Open Dinghy: 1. Ja Ensor-Doncan Russel (Pen); 2. Fred-Lim Teong Kheng (Pen).

Race Board: 1. Elfee Shahrizan Alias (Ter); 2. Illham Wahab (Ter); 3. Geh Cheow Lin (Pen).

Boys’ Optimist Div A Under-13: 1. Muhammad Izzuddin Abdul Rani (Ter); 2. Umar Al-Farouk Mohd Zahawi (Ter); 3. Muh Afiq Irsyad Adam (Sab).

Div B Under-11: 1. Shahidatul Atirah Sawal (Ked); 2. Muh Aiman Adam Mohd Firdaus (Sab); 3. Putera Adrine Danish Mohd Puad (Nse).

Div C Under-10: 1. Muhammad Idris Mohd Zahawi (Ter); 2. Muh Asnawi Iqbal Adam (Sab); 3. Nur Afiqah Najwa (Prk).

Bic Techno: 1. Luqman Hakimi Jasmi (Ter); 2. Muhammad Arif Salimi (Joh); 3. Muhammad Azahari (Nse).

Men’s Laser Radial: 1. Ahmad Khairulhafiz Ahmad Khmbali (Mal); 2. Asmawi Azman (Ter); 3. Muham-mad Mustakkim Ros Saidi (Navy).

Laser Standard: 1. Mohd Akiyuddin Mat Zaki (Navy); 2. Mohamad Firdaus Mohd Noorazali (Navy); 3. Mohd Firdaus Muhammad (Ter).

International 420: 1. Muhammad Uzair Amin-Muhammad Amirul Izham (Nse); 2. Tengku Mohd Muslim Tuan Hassan-Muhammad Hanaqfizudin Sidek (Ter); 3. Zaifah Zairie Hardy Zainol-Muhammad Hafizzal Zailan (Ter).

Access 2.3: 1. Al Mustakim Matrin (ISN Paralimpik); 2. Mustafah Junell (ISN Paralimpik); 3. Azmi Ani (ISN Paralimpik); 4. Nurul Amilin Balawi (ISN Paralimpik).

Formula: 1. Peter Moor (Aus); 2. Shahrin Keria (Navy); 3. Kit Ho (Pen).

Girls’ Optimist: 1. Shahidatul Atirah Sawal (Ked); 2. Al Insyirah Aina Zulkifli (Ter); 3. Nur Adlina Nasreen Mohd Nasri (Perlis).

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

News , Northern Region , bureaus


Stories You'll Enjoy