Indon coaches light up badminton challenge

  • Scoreboard
  • Monday, 25 May 2015

Well done: Chong Thay presenting the Ong siblings You Shien (green T-shirt) and You Thien with their prizes for winning the Women

PERLIS’ Indonesian coach Perkasa Setia retained the Kubang Pasu-Fleet Open badminton singles title by beating his state coaching counterpart Amal Oriwibooro in a hard fought three-game thriller.

He triumphed with a 22-20, 12-21, 21-19 score in the final at the JH Jaya Sports hall in Kampung Kelubi Luar in Jitra, Kedah, recently to pocket the cash prize of RM300 and a Fleet brand bag and rack.

Earlier in the semi-finals, he beat Md Nazim Kamar, also in three games of 21-14, 11-21, 21-14 while Amal Owibooro downed Lutfi Ahmad by 21-15, 21-10.

In last year’s final, Perkasa had beaten Quah Ah Ying 21-14, 19-21, 21-8.

Perkasa, however, failed to repeat last year’s feat of a double when he and his partner Ong Juin Wei, were shown the exit in the quarter-finals by unseeded pair Ng Yong Chai and Tan Chong Hao in three games of 20-22, 21-19, 21-18.

Perkasa and Ong, who were also partners last year, were the top seeds.

Yong Chai and Chong Hao were later beaten in the final by another unseeded pair of Md Akmal Zakaria and Md Nazim Kamar in straight games of 21-11, 21-16.

The winners pocketed RM600 cash while the losers took home RM300.

In the semi-finals, Yong Chai and Chong Hao beat Gan Tee Thang and Cheang Hang Zee by 21-14, 21-13 while Akmal and Nazim defeated Lai Kuan Zer and Ooi Muk Xin by 21-18, 21-13.

In the women’s open doubles, top seeded siblings Ong You Shien and You Thien defeated Ng Jia Shuen and Ooi Jo Yee by 21-18, 23-21 to pocket RM400 cash.

In the women’s veterans category, the evergreen Rahmah Md Noh and Teoh Chia Ling proved too good to trounce the top seeded pair of Ramlah Bakar and Nor Nazihah Ismail with a 21-9, 21-13 victory in the final.

The men’s veterans title was won by second seeds Yew Se Chik and Wong Kam Seng, who downed the top seeded pair of Sim Wee Min and Lee Shen Chuan after a gruelling three-game affair with the scores reading 19-21, 21-13, 24-22.

There were no singles events for women.

JH Jaya Sports Sdn Bhd managing director Ooi Chong Thay presented the prizes to the winners.


Men’s singles: Perkasa Setia bt Amal Oriwihooro 22-20, 12-21, 21-19.

Men’s doubles: Md Akmal Zakaria- Md Nazim Md Kamal bt Ng Yong Chai-Tan Chong Hao 21-11, 21-16.

Veterans doubles: Yew Se Chik-Wong Kam Seng bt Sim Wee Min-Lee Shen Chuan 19-21, 21-13, 24-22.

Women’s Open doubles: Ong You Shien-Ong You Thien bt Ng Jia Shuen-Ooi Jo Yee 21-18, 23-21.

Women’s Veterans doubles: Rahmah Md Noh-Teoh Chia Ling bt Ramlah Bakar-Nor Nazihah Ismail 21-9, 21-13.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Sport , Northern Region , football


Across the site