Thevan shines in cross country

  • Scoreboard
  • Wednesday, 28 Jan 2015

Worthy winners: The champions of the various categories get together for a group picture with the organisers and sponsors.

R. Thevan, 22, grabbed the top spot in the men’s Open category in the Sports Toto-Federal Territory Kuala Lumpur Athletic Association (FTKLAA) cross country championships.

Thevan, relatively a newcomer to road races, completed the 10.7km run in an impressive time of 39:11 to win the gold medal ahead of seasoned R. Venugopal (40:40) and Rosnizam Rosli (40:47).

Thevan was excited with the win as the field was competitive.

“It was also a challenging trail but I managed to maintain my pace. I am happy to win the gold medal,’’ said Thevan.

Malaysia’s top marathon runner Shaharudin Hashim, representing Police, was also in good form and won the men’s veteran section in a time 41:41 while A. Vadivelu (42:20) and V.N. Devandran (43:32) were second and third respectively.

Michelle Tan Bee Kiang emerged as the champion in the women’s Open category.

The petite lass completed the 6.7km distance in a time of 36:19 while Savinder Kaur, a student at the Bukit Jalil Sports School (BJSS), was second on 37:28 followed by Adele Wong Li Peng (37:46).

However the fastest women in the championships was former international walker and runner Yuan Yufang.

Taking part in the women’s veteran category, Yufang clocked 35:35 to win the gold medal.

BJSS’ A. Manishha was the winner in the women’s junior category. The youngster, who had represented Malaysia in the recent Asean Schools Games in the Philippines, clocked 36:30 enroute to the gold medal.

Sports Toto communications manager Giam Say Khoon said they were pleased with the response for the championships.

“This is the first time we had become the main sponsor for the FTKLAA cross country. The encouraging support from the participants has given has reasons to continue next year. The feedback from the participants was also encouraging.

“We are convinced that they had a good time,’’ said Say Khoon.

FTKLAA president Leo Leslie Armstrong said they were grateful to Sports Toto for being the main sponsors at the annual event.

“We have been organising the cross country championships for a long time. This is the first season, we had a title sponsor in Sports Toto. We will be working with them to promote the event and get more participants to take part next year,’’ said Armstrong.



Open (10.7km) : 1. R. Thevan (Kul) 39:11; 2. R. Venugopal (Police) 40:40; 3. Rosnizam Rosli (Mal) 40:47.

Veteran (10.7km): 1. Shaharudin Hashim (Police) 41:41; 2. A. Vadivelu (KL City Hall) 42:20; 3. V. N. Devandran (Police) 43:32.

Senior Veteran (6.7km) : 1. Daniel Tan Soo Liang 37:07; 2. Yeo Khay Ann 37:38; 3. Alam Shah Ismail Ahmad (Sel) 38:05.

Junior (6.7km): 1. G. Sivaneshwaran 29:28; 2. M. Prethib Kumar 30:28; 3. M. Jivan Raj 30:48.

Boys (3km) : 1. A. Oliven Raj 15:37; 2. P. Sudhan 15:62; 3. G. Darshendran 16:72.


Open (6.7km) : 1. Michelle Tan Bee Kiang 36:19; 2. Savinder Kaur (NSC) 37:28; 3. Adele Wong Li Peng 37:46.

Veteran (6.7km) : 1. Yuan Yufang (Kul) 35:35; 2. Ho Wai Peng 39:50; Susan Khoo (Sel) 41:00.

Junior (6.7km) : 1. A. Manishha 36:30; 2. Ainur Shafiqah Azmi 36:50; 3. Tan Zi Jin 37:01.

Girls (3km) : 1. Yeong Zhen Yi 17:13; 2. C. Taarini 17:26; 3. Aaffreen Irdina Mohd Aizar Othman 17:35.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Sport , Central Region , athletics


Across the site