High riding Suria and Kampong Seronok on track for premier class action

Defusing the danger: Kampong Makam SC goalkeeper Shazril Syafiq Mohd Sharif (in green) leaping to tip away the ball when challenged by Suria SC’s Muhammad Firdaus.

SURIA SC and Kampong Seronok FC are on track for promotion to the FA of Penang Division One League by notching their fourth consecutive wins in Division Two.

Both teams won by big scorelines at the Polo Ground to garner maximum 12 points in four matches.

Kampong Melayu-based Suria SC are on top of the table on better goal difference. They have 11 goals while Bayan Lepas-based Kampong Seronok have 10. Both teams had conceded a goal each.

The newly relegated Suria SC showed they were ready to reclaim their place in Division One by handing Kampong Makam SC a 5-1 bashing on Sunday while Kampong Seronok thrashed Balik Pulau-based Kongsi SC 6-0 on the same day.

Suria SC took only two minutes to draw first blood through Muhammad Firdaus Othman but the young Kampung Makam side struck back a minute later with a goal by Ahmad Fauzan Yahya.

The Suria players quickly refocussed to force their opponents into retreat with constant raids. They regained their lead through Muhammad Alfuddin Mohamed in the 14th minute and struck twice more in the first half for a commanding 4-1 lead at the breather.

The other two goals came from Faidullah Al Hasni Zakaria in the 23rd and 35th minutes.

Mohamad Shahir Muhamad contributed Suria’s last goal in the 71st minute.

At the adjacent pitch, Kampong Seronok FC led 2-0 at half-time from goals by Azmin Shah Osman (7th minute) and Jamri Othman (25th minute).

The four goals they got in the second half of the 80-minute match were braces by Norhafizi Noordin (52nd and 57th minutes) and Muhammad Farizol Saini (77th and 79th minutes).

Third-placed Yayasan Prai Rovers suffered an untimely hiccup when held to a 2-2 draw by basement side Macallum SC on the same day, resulting in a four-point gap between them and the top two teams.

The Yayasan side were trailing 0-1 in the 16th minute when Mohamed Ramze Othman gave the Macallum side a dream lead.

Yayasan struck back for a 2-1 lead via goals in the 77th and 78th minutes through J. Muniswaran and R. Yugarajan.

But their concentration lapsed at the stroke of full-time, allowing Macallum striker Chooi Chooi Leong to blast a blistering right footer past Yayasan goalkeeper R. Kumaresan for the draw.

Only the top two of the 13 teams playing in the Division Two league will gain promotion to Division One.

In Division Three matches played a day earlier, Butterfly SC threw a spanner into Kesupen's hopes of reaching third spot to keep leaders Pearl of Orient and Penang Municipal Council within striking distance.

Butterfly carved out a 3-2 win in a Group A showdown. All the five goals were scored in an action-packed first half of the 70-minute match.

Kesupen were left trailing after 13 minutes when Jason Loh Yu Liang opened accounts for Butterfly FC. They equalised five minutes later through Muhammad Ridhuan Hadzir and then grabbed a 2-1 lead when Ariee Ariff scored in the 25th minute.

But they failed to hold on to that slender advantage, allowing Butterfly SC to hit home two quick goals through Khang Khe Len in the 27th and 30th minutes.

For Kesupen, it was their second defeat in four outings.

Mutiara United FC were luckier in their Group B campaign. They handed Glugor Club a 3-1 beating to take all three points. Their six points from four outings have put them just a point behind second-placed Youngsters United to keep their semi-final hopes alive.

Mutiara scored via Muhammad Ridzuwan Jamil (20th and 28th mins) and Mohd Nor Azroy Jumadil (31st min). Glugor Club's lone reply came from Muhamad Ismail Muhamad Sharip.

RESULTS: Division Two: Suria SC bt Kampong Makam SC (5-1); Macallum SC drew Yayasan Prai Rovers (2-2); Kampong Seronok FC bt Kongsi SC (6-0).

Division Three: Group A: Butterfly SC bt Kesupen (3-2). Group B: Mutiara United FC bt Glugor Club (3-1).


Tomorrow: Division Three Group A: Sungai Nibong SC vs Tanjong Bungah Rangers II (Polo Ground A, 5.15pm); Customs SC vs Prisons SC (Polo Ground B, 5.15pm); 4B Sungai Glugor vs MPPP (Polo Ground C, 5.15pm).

Sunday: Division Two: Rifle Range SC vs Chinese Wanderers SC (Polo Ground A, 5.15pm); Inpro SC vs Yayasan Prai Rovers (Polo Ground B, 5.15pm); AUCMS vs Telok Bahang SC (Polo Ground C, 5.15pm).

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

utilities , Northern Region , bureaus


Stories You'll Enjoy