Easy win for ex-national shuttler

  • Scoreboard
  • Wednesday, 14 Jan 2015

Back in the game: Chun Seang (back row, right) and Syed Akbar Shah (left) posing with their prizes with the VIPs (from left) Nor Saidi, Nawawi Ahmad, Tan and Marzuki after the prize presentation in Kuah, Langkawi.Well done: Boys Under-12 singles champion Gerardo Rizquillah (centre) and second prize winner Mohd Farriq Razif (left) posing with their prizes. On the right are third-placed Haris Sufian (right) and Manochat Littichai.

FORMER national shuttler Tan Chun Seang showed that he is still a player of quality when he retained the Langkawi Lada-Apacs international badminton tournament’s Men’s Open singles title.

Chun Seang, 28, who quit the national team three years ago, easily beat Syed Akhbar Shah from Singapore in straight games of 21-10, 21-14 in the final of the tournament which was held recently at the Lada sports complex in Langkawi.

The Kedahan earned the event’s biggest cash prize of RM5,000, an Apacs racket and medal while Syed Akhbar received RM3,000, a racket and medal.

In last year’s final, Chun Seang had beaten former All-England champion Mohd Hafiz Hashim, also in straight games.

Former top doubles combination of Razif Sidek and Ong Ewe Hock also showed their prowess by winning the Veterans Doubles title for the third year in succession.

They defeated a scratch Thailand-Malaysian combination of Chatujinda Kasemsak-Haso Naran Dass in the final by 21-10, 21-15 to pocket RM1,000, rackets and medals. Their opponents took home RM500, rackets and medals.

In last year’s final, the pair had beaten Yap Kim Hock and Teo Sang Si 21-17, 21-7.

More than 200 players from Thailand, Singapore, Indonesia, Australia and Malaysia participated in the three-day tournament which was organised by the Mahsuri Badminton Club and sponsored by the Langkawi Development Authority (Lada), Apacs Sports (M) Sdn Bhd and Langkawi MP Datuk Nawawi Ahmad.

Thai players swept the board in the women and girls events. Fifteen-year-old Korepap Chasinee scored a double by winning the Girls under-15 singles crown and Women’s Open doubles with Kanlaha Laksika.

Kanlaha won the Women’s Open singles title by beating Jalareree Thipvatee but conceded a walkover to her in the under-18 singles final.

Organising secretary Haso Naran Dass said the annual event was aimed at promoting tourism in Langkawi.

“Most of the players who came with their families had the dual purpose of competing in the tournament and also holidaying with their family members.

“This is by far the biggest tournament in Langkawi in terms of prizes as the sponsors had contributed cash prize of more than RM40,000 and other prizes amounting to a further RM50,000.

“In the light of the tremendous response from foreign players, I call upon local players, especially women players, to participate in the next edition,” Dass said.

Nawawi, Kuah assemblyman Nor Saidi Nayan, former Kedah MCA chairman Datuk Wira Tan Hong Eng and Langkawi Umno Youth chief Marzuki Shariat took turns to give away the prizes to the winners.

Results: (all finals)


Singles Open: Tan Chun Seang bt Syed Akhbar Shah 21-10, 21-14; Doubles Open: Mak Her Chun-Tan Bin Chin bt Mohd Zakry Latif-Mohd Najib Latif 21-15, 21-13.

Veterans doubles: Razif Sidek-Ong Ewe Hock bt Chatujinda Kasemsak-Haso Naran Dass 21-10, 21-15.

Under-18 singles: Ahmad Maziri Mazlan bt Mohd Syafiq Sanusi 21-16, 22-20; Doubles: Amirul Hakimi Yusrizal-Mohd Syauqi Fauzi bt Mohd Syazmil Idham-Mohd Najmi Kamaruddin 22-20, 19-21, 21-16.

Under-15 singles: Low Wai Ping bt Ng Yong Chai 21-17, 21-18; Doubles: Woh Xiang Jue-Low Wai Ping bt Ng Yong Chai-Eng Cin Hong 21-12, 21-11.

Under-12 singles: Gerardo Rizquillah bt Mohd Farriq Razif (w/o); Doubles: Bronson Wang-Lee Jie Lun bt Mohd Farriq Razif-Gerardo Rizquillah 23-21, 10-21, 21-14.


Singles Open: Kanlaha Laksika bt Jalareree Thipvatee 21-19, 21-23 (rtd); Doubles Open: Korepap Chasinee-Kanlaha Laksika bt Nor Shahirah Razali-Tan Hui Lyn 21-6, 21-10.

Under-18 singles: Jalareree Thipvatee bt Kanlaha Laksika (w/o);

Under-15 singles: Korepap Chasinee bt Lim Jing Ning 21-15, 21-9.

Under-12 singles: Ng Yong Yue bt Chew Tze Teng 21-15, 22-20.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Sport , Northern Region , APACS


Across the site