DBKL, PjC release guidelines for petty traders during MCO

Annuar says that petty traders with temporary licences can continue to operate during the MCO.

KUALA Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) has come out with new operating hours for petty traders and markets in the city during the movement control order period.

In the guidelines posted on its Facebook on Thursday, DBKL said open-air morning markets were allowed to operate from 6am to noon while indoor and farmers markets could open from 7am to 2pm.

Pasar Borong Kuala Lumpur in Selayang’s operating hours are from midnight to 6am for night shifts and 9am to 4pm for day shifts.

Operating hours for mobile traders are from 6am to 8pm.

A DBKL spokesperson, when contacted, said two factors were taken into account when formulating the guidelines, namely the safety of the public and financial well-being of traders.

“If we don’t allow traders to operate, this may affect their financial situation.

“But on the flip side, there is also the Covid-19 prevention aspect that we must consider, ” he said.

The DBKL guidelines limit operating hours for eateries from 6am to 8pm. Only takeaway and delivery were allowed.

On whether petty traders who were issued a temporary licence under DBKL’s free trade initiative would be allowed to operate during the MCO, Federal Territories Minister Tan Sri Annuar Musa, in a tweet on Wednesday, confirmed that they could continue.

However, he said they must abide by the standard operating procedures and instructions from the local authorities and Health Ministry.

A check by StarMetro at noon on Thursday in Jalan Setiawangsa, Setiawangsa, found such traders were operating as usual.

Putrajaya Corporation (PjC) commercial, business development and licensing director Noor Sita Abbas said it would continue to issue a temporary licence to traders during the MCO.

“They are allowed to operate from 8am to 8pm but must abide by the SOP, ” she said in a statement.

She added that public markets in Putrajaya such as Pasar Awam Presint 8, Pasar Awam Presint 16 and MyFarm Presint 9 were allowed to operate from 7am to 2pm.

Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin announced that Penang, Selangor, Melaka, Johor, Sabah and the Federal Territories of Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya and Labuan would come under a two-week MCO from Jan 13 to curb the rising number of Covid-19 cases in these states.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 18
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


50% readers found this article insightful

Next In Metro News

Ipoh residents can send complaints, feedback to city council via Facebook Live starting March 4
Porridge shop owner may consider returning to work after taking a break
All trading lots taken up at Pasar Mahkota Sentral in Cheras that was hit by multiple delays
‘Advisable for management bodies of high-rise residences to abide by act’
‘Some employers doing more for wellbeing of foreign staff’
Hard work behind virtual Chinese New Year party
Two factories raided for violating closure notice, equipment seized
Anti-dengue checks at Klang construction sites next week
‘Sarawakians having more confidence in vaccine’
MP gives out over 2,700 fabric face masks for Year One pupils

Stories You'll Enjoy