New MBSP councillors draw up plans for the community

TWO new councillors in Seberang Prai City Council (MBSP) who were sworn in as replacements are eager to prove their mettle and help the community for the betterment of Penang.

Despite being first-timers, retired teacher Rohayah Zakaria from PKR and businessman

Ngoh Cheng Hai from DAP have already lined up their respective plans for the community.

Rohayah, 63, said she was happy to be elected and hoped to enhance the infrastructure in Seberang Prai.

“I know this may sound basic but while I was heading over here, I realised that the traffic is bad.

“If we build pedestrian crossing bridges near schools, they will reduce traffic and be safer for the students as well.

“This idea may not sound fancy and new but it can go a long way.

“We represent the people and these days, everyone has an eye on community issues as there is social media.

“We must think of the younger generation and work towards making their lives better, ” she said after the swearing-in

ceremony at the MBSP headquarters in Bandar Perda, Bukit Mertajam last Thursday.

Rohayah, who has been a PKR member since 1998, said she was happy to be the voice of womenfolk as well.

Ngoh, 38, from Nibong Tebal, said he wanted to concentrate on waste management.

“From my observation, there is still a lack of awareness on cleanliness in housing areas.

“I want to encourage the locals to work together and keep the environment clean.

“I am new and I need to learn the ropes but I want to serve the people well and help them find solutions to some of their problems, ” he said.

Rohayah and Ngoh are replacing two councillors from Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (Bersatu) — A’ziss Zainal Abiddin and Marshidaliza Marzuki.

The 24 MBSP councillors now comprise 10 from DAP, nine from PKR, two from Amanah and three from local non-governmental organisations.

MBSP mayor Datuk Rozali Mohamud thanked the two Bersatu councillors for their service throughout the year.

“They have been councillors since 2018, ” he said.

Present at the ceremony were state local government committee chairman Jagdeep Singh Deo, Bagan Dalam assemblyman M. Satees and Jawi assemblyman Jason H’ng.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Next In Metro News

Several commercial premises in Lestari Perdana evacuated after drain cliff collapses
Deluge after deluge
Boxes filled with new year cheer for the less fortunate
Cleaner environs for CNY
Council cuts two rotting trees in Tanjung Malim
Food traders forced to increase prices after hike in cost of raw ingredients
Dengue on the rise in Klang district
Need to step up giving jabs
MBPG councillors seek RM50,000 annual allocation
No halt to waste management, street cleaning during CNY

Others Also Read