Meeting the people’s needs

  • Metro News
  • Monday, 13 Jul 2020

(From second left) Rozali and Jagdeep having a chat with Ooi (left) and Noor Azuawati after the swearing-in ceremony at the Seberang Prai City Council headquarters in Bukit Mertajam.

THE Seberang Prai City Council (MBSP) has appointed two new faces from PKR as councillors who will serve until the end of the year.

They are Noor Azuawati Ahmad, 34, and Ooi Boon Sheng, 26, who replace Shuhada Abdul Rahim and Dr Seow Kweng Tian.

They took their oaths before mayor Datuk Rozali Mohamud at the MBSP headquarters in Bandar Perda, Bukit Mertajam on Penang mainland on Friday.

Noor Azuawati, a coordinator at the Rohingya Education Centre in Seberang Jaya, said she would help educate the villagers in Penanti in observing the standard operating procedure (SOP) launched during the Covid-19 pandemic.

“I will play my part in educating the villagers, especially the elderly folk, in complying with the SOP outlined by the authorities.

“Cleanliness and health are my priority as well, ” she said, adding that beautification projects would also be carried out to keep the areas clean.

Ooi, a staff member at the service centre of Bukit Tengah assemblyman Gooi Hsiao Leung, is currently pursuing a masters degree in Public Administration in Universiti Sains Malaysia.

“My main focus is to serve the public in Nibong Tebal.

“I will work with the grassroot and engage with the Village Community Management Council (MPKK) to understand the local issues in Nibong Tebal.

“My priority is to get youngsters more involved in social activities. This is one way of contributing to society, ” he said.

Rozali said both the new and existing councillors should bring the opportunities available in the circular economy to the urban and rural areas, as well as the residential, industrial and commercial areas.

A circular economy is an economic system aimed at eliminating waste and the continual use of resources.

Also present were state local government committee chairman Jagdeep Singh Deo, Permatang Pauh MP Nurul Izzah Anwar, Balik Pulau MP Muhammad Bakhtiar Wan Chik, Gooi, Berapit assemblyman Heng Lee Lee and Penanti assemblyman Dr Norlela Ariffin.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 18
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Across the site