Six KL MPs to sit on DBKL committees as part of reforms to include elected reps in city administration

  • Metro News
  • Thursday, 30 May 2019

KUALA LUMPUR: Six Kuala Lumpur MPs are sitting on Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) committees as part of reforms to include the participation of elected representatives in the city's administration.

Federal Territories Minister Khalid Samad said the decision was made at the Federal Territories Consultative Council meeting on Monday (May 27).

“The six MPs involved were selected as they do not hold any ministerial or special envoy position.

“The selections are Setiawangsa MP Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad for education; Bukit Bintang MP Fong Kui Loon for tourism, arts and culture; Batu MP P. Prabakaran for youth and sports; Wangsa Maju MP Datuk Dr Tan Kee Kwong for health and women's affairs; Kepong MP Lim Lip Eng for traffic and infrastructure; and Lembah Pantai MP Fahmi Fadzil for social and economy development.

“The MPs will have to work with not only DBKL officers but also various government agencies involved in managing the city. This will also give the MPs exposure and experience in governance,” he said at a press conference in Menara Seri Wilayah, Putrajaya, Thursday (May 20).

Khalid said the committees would be chaired by Kuala Lumpur mayor Datuk Nor Hisham Ahmad Dahlan, except for tourism, arts and culture, which was chaired by himself, and the social and economic development committee which would be chaired by deputy Federal Territories minister Datuk Dr Shahruddin Md Salleh.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Across The Star Online