Go beyond your backyard, says MP

Yeoh with DBKL Community Development and Urban Wellbeing Depart-ment director Anwar Mohd Zain as she addresses the briefing session.

WITH the setting up of the Federal Territories Residents Representative Council (MPPWP), Segambut MP Hannah Yeoh has advised residents to look out for each other, and not limit their involvement within the confines of their respective residential areas.

The MPPWP is divided into six sub-zones in Segambut, with committee members representing several neighbourhoods in their respective areas including high-end and low-cost properties.

“I hope residents will have a better understanding of issues affecting not only their own residential area, but also that of their neighbours nearby,” said Yeoh.

She said the MPPWP was similar to the Residents Committee (JKP) model practised in Selangor.

“The main purpose of the MPPWP is to tackle issues and facilitate better communication. They are not legal entities but resident bodies.”

Each council is made up of a mix of non-governmental organisations (NGOs), residents’ associations (RA) and political appointees, although the political appointees are active RA members, said Yeoh after a briefing for newly appointed MPPWP members at Kuala Lumpur City Hall’s (DBKL) Segambut branch office in Taman Tun Dr Ismail.

Yeoh added that each MPPWP sub-zone would be headed by one chairman each from DAP, PKR, Bersatu and Amanah, while the remaining two would be from NGOs. The MPPWP members are appointed by the Federal Territories (FT) Ministry.

Yeoh (front row, centre) with the newly appointed MPPWP members under the Segambut parliamentary constituency.
Yeoh (front row, centre) with the newly appointed MPPWP members under the Segambut parliamentary constituency. 

FT Ministry Socio-Economic Section chief assistant secretary Abdul Rashid Jemain was present to explain the MPPWP’s functions, future programmes, grants and allowances for committee members.

He said a retreat would be held by the ministry to inform MPPWP members across all Kuala Lumpur parliamentary constituencies of their responsibilities and how the council would function.

In her message to the members, Yeoh said, “Try to bring practical solutions when highlighting complaints at meetings.

“Understand how things work at the DBKL level, and ensure there is extensive consultation as the MPPWP represents the residents’ voice,” she said.

Yeoh suggested that they organise programmes to allow people of all races and ages to mingle, and the pooling of resources such as collaborating to organise one festive celebration per sub-zone, rather than individual festive celebrations by several RAs in one area.

As dengue cases are more prevalent now, Yeoh, who is also Deputy Women, Family and Community Development Minister, urged the MPPWP to organise “search and destroy” prevention programmes.

Zone Four sub-zone chairman Mohamed Ishak Sidin said his zone had the highest density in Segambut.

“This is due to the large number of high-rise properties in this area that covers Segambut, Mont Kiara, Hartamas and Taman Sri Sinar,” said the Taman Segambut Bahagia RA chairman.

“Some of the issues that we want to address concern foreigners or transit workers, potholes, illegal dumpsite and the missing link between Segambut Bahagia and Mont Kiara.”

Farhan Abdul Rahman described his sub-zone as a close-knit community that looked out for each other.

The Zone Two sub-zone covers TTDI, Kampung Sungai Penchala and Kampung Bukit Lanjan.

“Some of the problems in this area are lack of street-level parking and regulation for reserved parking spots,” said Farhan, who is also a TTDI RA committee member.

“Maintenance of roads in Sungai Penchala is a problem as some private roads have yet to be handed over to DBKL,” he added.

The other sub-zones are: sub-zone one (Menjalara, Maluri, Desa Park City and Sunway SPK), sub-zone three (Bukit Damansara, Medan Damansara and Bukit Tunku), sub-zone five (Dutamas, Taman Cuepacs and Sri Segambut) and sub-zone six (Taman Kok Doh, Taman City Kanan, Taman Segambut, Kampung Kasipillay and Kolam Ayer).

Central Region


Across The Star Online