New MBPJ councillors to be sworn in this week

A NEW batch of 24 councillors are expected to be sworn in this week at Petaling Jaya City Council (MBPJ) to fill seats left vacant following the previous end of term on June 30.

“We will have the swearing in done as soon as I receive the list from the state and if they give me the list tomorrow (July 10), then we can swear them in even faster,” said Petaling Jaya mayor Datuk Mohd Azizi Mohd Zain yesterday.

He added that the list was expected to arrive latest by end of this week and hoped that the process would be expedited.

All committee meetings involving councillors have been halted since June 30 and will only resume after the swearing in of the new councillors.

“There have been no glitches in the city council’s operations so far. Even for tender processes, councillors are only observers so there isn’t much of a problem for projects to be carried out,” Mohd Azizi explained.

He expects to receive a list of 11 names from PKR, 10 form DAP, two from Amanah and one from Bersatu.

More than half of them will be new faces.

Before the term ended on June 30, councillor Sean Oon openly stated his resignation while four others resigned to stand for the 14th general election.

The four are Jamaliah Jamaluddin, Lim Yi Wei, Mohd Ghazali Daud and Ariffin Mahaiyuddin.

It was previously reported that three names from DAP would be allocated for the non-governmental organisations quota while one slot would be from PKR. — By BRENDA CH'NG

Central Region , MBPJ , councillors , swearing in