PAS to field three non-Muslim candidates

  • Metro News
  • Saturday, 28 Apr 2018

(From left) Kumaravelu, Jaya Kumar, Jamil, Asoghan and Vikneswaran posing for the camera during PAS’ anouncement of candidates.

The party would contest a total of 19 state and six parliamentary seats in Penang.

State PAS commissioner Muhammad Fauzi Yusof said the party would field three candidates under its affiliate group Dewan Himpunan Penyokong PAS (DHPP), which is open to non-Muslims.

Datuk Dr Vikneswaran Muniandy will contest in Batu Uban, Kumaravelu Arumugam in Bukit Tambun and Jaya Kumar Balakrishan in Batu Kawan.

Muhammad Fauzi said two candidates of the People’s Alternative Party (PAP), a partner under the Gagasan Sejahtera coalition helmed by PAS, would also be contesting.

G. Asoghan Govindaraju and Tan Beng Huat would contest in the Perai and Jawi state seats.

“We are confident of winning a simple majority of 21 seats to form the state government,” Muhammad Fauzi told reporters at the state PAS headquarters in Pongsu Seribu, Kepala Batas.

Asoghan, the former Bagan Luar DAP branch chairman, was sacked from the party for standing in Bagan Dalam as an independent candidate in the last general election.

Tan, the former Jawi assemblyman from DAP, was not fielded in the last general election and was replaced by Soon Lip Chee.

PAP is a splinter party of ex-DAP grassroots leaders.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

News , Northern Region , bureaus


Did you find this article insightful?


Across The Star Online