71 new Datuks in Penang

SEVENTY-ONE people will receive the Datukship for the first time during the Yang di-Pertua Negri Tun Abdul Rahman Abbas 78th birthday celebration today.

Among them are Penang Island City Council secretary Ang Aing Thye, Penang Bishop Sebastian Francis, Securities Commission deputy chief executive Ahmad Fairuz Zainol Abidin, state Health Department deputydirector Dr Hassan Merican Omar Naina Merican, Society of Disabled Persons Penang president Teh Lay Kuan, Penang Hospital consultant child and adolescent psychiatrist Dr Lai Fong Hwa and Rose Charities Malaysia president Lawrence Cheah Seong Paik.

(Clockwise from top left) Recipients of the DMPN award Comm Datuk Abdul Ghafar Rajab, Datuk Leslie Lee Kim Guan and Datuk Gooi Soon Chai, DSPN award recipients Ang Aing Thye and Dr Lai Fong Hwa and DJN recipient Mohamed Meera Sahib Mohamed Noordeen. 

They are among 75 people getting the Darjah Setia Pangkuan Negeri (DSPN) and 11 others who will receive the Darjah Yang Mulia Pangkuan Negeri (DMPN), both which also carry the title Datuk.

Among them are Penang police chief Comm Datuk Abdul Ghafar Rajab, Keysight Technologies Malaysia and Singapore president Datuk Gooi Soon Chai, Penang Development Corporation general manager Datuk Rosli Jaafar, Eco World Development Group Berhad chief operating officer Datuk Sundarajoo Somu, and New Bob Group chairman Datuk Leslie Lee Kim Guan, who is also D’Home Mental Health Association president.

A total of 1,223 recipients will receive state awards headed by National Mosque Grand Imam Tan Sri Syaikh Ismail Muhammad.

Syaikh Ismail, 72, is the sole recipient of the Darjah Panglima Pangkuan Negeri (DPPN) award, which carries the title Datuk Seri.

Seven people will also receive their Darjah Gemilang Pangkuan Negeri (DGPN) that carries the title Datuk Seri including Malaysian composer Datuk Dr Ahmad Khan Nawab Khan, Value Partners Group Ltd chairman Datuk Cheah Cheng Hye, National Heart Institute chief executive officer Datuk Dr Mohd Azhari Yakub, investPenang director Datuk Lee Kah Choon, and Petronas president and group chief executive officer Datuk Wan Zulkiflee Wan Ariffin.

Mohamed Meera Sahib (M) Sdn Bhd director Mohamed Meera Sahib Mohamed Noordeen is among the 92 recipients of the Darjah Johan Negeri (DJN).

A total of 37 people are receiving the Bintang Cemerlang Negeri (BCN), 143 the Pingat Kelakuan Terpuji (PKT), 377 the Pingat Jasa Kebaktian (PJK), 401 the Pingat Jasa Masyarakat (PJM) and 79 the Pingat Bakti Setia (PBS).

The Star stringer M. Sivanantha Sharma is among those who will receive the Pingat Kelakuan Terpuji (PKT).

Northern Region , Family Community , awards , state , TYT