Formula for partyless BN assemblymen to join parties in coalition

KUCHING: The nine partyless Barisan Nasional assemblymen will be admitted into the coalition’s component parties according to a formula acceptable to all.

Deputy Chief Minister Datuk Amar Abang Johari Tun Openg said Chief Minister Tan Sri Adenan Satem had a formula in mind for the nine to be accepted.

“I believe this formula will be agreed to by all the component parties. We will still leave it to the assemblymen concerned to choose which party they want to join but in principle it must be understood by all our partners in Barisan,” he told reporters after chairing a meeting on tourist services in national parks.

He added that the formula would be announced by Adenan once it is finalised, which will be before the next State Legislative Assembly sitting in October or November.

The nine assemblymen include three former PBB members who quit the party to be fielded as Barisan direct candidates in the May 7 state election.

Six more are former members of splinter parties UPP and Teras who also contested as direct candidates.

All nine applied to join PBB, the backbone party of the state Barisan, after the election. Although they have been told to reconsider their decision and consult their constituents as to which party they should join, they remain adamant about joining PBB.

If they are eventually accepted by PBB, the party would have 49 members in the 82-seat assembly, giving it more than a simple majority.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Stories You'll Enjoy