Mertajam see off PSC to regain Penang T20 crown

  • Community
  • Saturday, 02 Jul 2016

BMCC players and officials celebrating after lifting the T20 League crown at the PSC Oval.

AFTER a two-year lapse, Bukit Mertajam Cricket Club (BMCC) showed that they still have competitive edge at the PSC Oval. The BMCC seized the Penang Cricket Association T20 League trophy in a 10-run victory at the championship’s fourth edition, defeating home team Penang Sports Club (PSC) in the finals. 

Strongly influenced by their two new additions from Pakistan, Mohamed Mahmud and Mohamed Ibrahim, BMCC registered 116 runs for a loss of six wickets in 20 overs while PSC, who were unbeaten in the preliminary rounds, were forced to throw in the towel after they were all out in 19 overs and only 106 runs. 

The man behind BMCC recapturing their T20 crown was former state hockey player P. Vadamalai, one of two Penang cricketers to have a Level 2 coaching certificate. The other PSC cricket convener is Avtar Singh. As BMCC team manager and coach, Vadamalai trained his players during weekends because of time constraints. "It was through such dedication and love for the game that kept the team going while we took care of our rice bowls. 

"The team would turn up at the Stowell School ground to train even when we lost the crown. Winning it back is a fitting reward,” said Vadamalai. Both BMCC and PSC, as the state league’s top two, are assured positions at the coming National T20 Cricket League challenge in Kuala Lumpur this September. It will be a costly endeavour and Vadamalai said that they would only take part if they can find sponsors. BMCC's first hint of success was pipping defending champions Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM). 

The varsity team was out after registering 71 runs and BMCC claimed victory by four wickets to confirm their entry into the finals. BMCC's only 44-run defeat in the preliminaries was against PSC, a side powered by expatriates. Although PSC were the early favourites, the gritty BMCC boys gave their best to carve out a narrow but well-deserved 10-run victory. PSC had won the toss and went to field first. BMCC were unfazed with Mohamed Mahmud scoring 30 runs. 

The other scorers were K. Jeevan (20 runs), K. Vogan Raj (14 runs) with P. Arvindran and Gliford Albonce scoring 10 runs apiece. Not even the good work of PSC’s Charan and Vengkat Raman, who topscored with 44 runs and 13 runs respectively, could save PSC from defeat. BMCC’s Mohamed Ibrahim took four wickets for 26 runs in four overs, Mohamed Mahmud had three wickets for 11 runs in four overs and Joshi Rotton registered three wickets for 14 runs in four overs. 

PSC wicket takers were S. Sanjeev, who took two wickets for 22 runs in four overs, C. Charan (two wickets for 10 runs in four overs) and Lovely (two wickets for 21 runs in four overs). The other three teams that featured in the recent challenge were the Australian Defence Force, USM and Penang State Development Teams (2014 champion).

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 7
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Across The Star Online