Come out early to vote

All in order: Mohd Hashim (third left) and election workers inspecting the ballot box for the Permatang Pauh by-election at the IKBN hall in Berapit, Seberang Jaya.

THE Election Commission (EC) is expecting an 80% voter turnout for the Permatang Pauh by-election today.

EC deputy chairman Datuk Seri Mohd Hashim Abdullah said the early preparation for the by-election had been going smoothly.

“We have prepared 25 voting centres with 130 channels and there will be 1,099 EC staff on duty on that day.

“Voters should come out early to vote as the centres will open from 8am and close at 5pm sharp,” he said when met at the Bukit Mertajam National Youth Skills Institute yesterday.

Mohd Hashim also congratulated the candidates for following the rules while campaigning.

“Some 3,000 police personnel will help to ensure that the voting process goes smoothly.”

The Permatang Pauh by-election will see PKR president Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail take on Barisan’s Suhaimi Sabudin, Parti Rakyat Malaysia’s Azman Shah Othman and independent Salleh Isahak.

Meanwhile, police have advised voters not to hand over their MyKad to anyone at polling stations other than EC personnel for identity verification.

By-election police spokesman Asst Comm Azmi Adam said voters should hold on to their MyKad and not give it to anyone especially to people whom they do not know.

“During the campaigning period, police have issued 560 ceramah permits, 320 to Barisan Nasional and 240 to PKR, while Parti Rakyat Malaysia and the independent candidate did not apply for any such permits.

“Up to Tuesday, police have received 85 reports on various election misconduct including tearing down of posters and banners in Permatang Nibong and the assault of a party supporter by a group of men in Taman Kelisa Emas,” he added.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Politics , Northern Region , Permatang Pauh , PKR , DAP , PAS , BN


Others Also Read