PAS man who caused stir dropped as councillor

ISZUREE Ibrahim who created controversy by claiming that the Penang government was ‘pro-developer’ has not been reappointed as councillor of the Penang Municipal Council (MPPP).

State Local Government and Traffic Management Committee chairman Chow Kon Yeow said that PAS did not submit an application for Iszuree’s term to be renewed.

“It was the wish of the party,” Chow said.

Chow said the MPPP and the Seberang Prai Municipal Council (MPSP) would have six new councillors each for the new term.

“DAP’s two new faces in the MPSP are Siti Nur Shazreen Mohd Jilani and A. Tiagarajen replacing S.M. Chandrasekaran and Chong Pei Pei.

“PKR’s Zaini Awang, Amir Md Ghazali and Mohd Sharmizan Haji Mohamad Nor replace Rezal Huzairi Md Zaki, Abdul Jalil Che Ros and Zulkiefly Saad.

“Dahalan Fazil of PAS will replace Ahmad Kaswan Kasim while NGO representatives Dr Tiun Ling Ta, Wong Chee Keat, and Ahmad Tarmizi Abdullah are being retained,” he told a press conference in Komtar yesterday.

“For MPPP, Tay Leong Seng will not be reappointed while Mohd Harszuan Jaharudin asked not to be considered as he would be furthering his studies in Europe.

“Goh Choon Keong and Syerleena Abdul Rashid will replace them.

“As for PKR, Muhammad Sabri Md Osman who has served for four terms will be replaced by Felix Ooi Keat Hin.

“The new candidate from PAS is Yaacob Omar and NGO reps Sha’ari Md Salleh and Mohamed Yusoff Mohamed Noor will replace NGO reps Aidi Akhbal Mohd Zainon and Mohd Foaz Hamid,” he said.

“The term of service will be from Jan 1 till Dec 31,” he said.

The swearing-in ceremony for MPSP councillors will take place today at 9am at the Bandar Perda MPSP headquarters while the MPPP councillors will be sworn in tomorrow at 9am at the Town Hall.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Stories You'll Enjoy