High-five for Ice Kacang Puppy Love at Malaysia's first Chinese movie awards

Aniu and Angelica Lee Sinjie play a pair of young lovers in Ice Kacang Puppy Love.

Aniu and Angelica Lee Sinjie play a pair of young lovers in Ice Kacang Puppy Love.

KUALA LUMPUR: A milestone was achieved in Malaysian Chinese cinema Tuesday night when the Chinese Film Association of Malaysia (CFAM) conducted its very first Chinese-language film awards - the Golden Wau Awards (GWA 2013).

Top contender Aniu's Ice Kacang Puppy Love (2010) was the biggest winner of the night with five awards - Best Movie, Best Actress (Lee Sinje), Best Cinematography (Yong Choon Lin), Best Editing (Victor Wai Tuck) and Best Art Design (Too Wen Huel).

Prominent Singaporean filmmaker Jack Neo took home the Best Actor award for his crossdressing role in Homecoming (2011) as well as The Most Popular Singaporean Film for We Not Naughty (2012).

Hong Kong's Kara Hui was named Best Supporting Actress for The Wedding Diary (2011) while local filmmaker Jack Lim grabbed the Best Supporting Actor award for Great Day (2011), which also bagged the Best Director award for Chiu Keng Guan.

Veteran artistes Datuk Lai Meng and Hon Ying were presented with the Pioneer Award - a lifetime achievement award recognising their contributions to the local Chinese entertainment industry since the 1950s.

Modelled after Taiwan’s Golden Horse Awards, the inaugural GWA included a seven day-long film festival featuring screenings of short films and seminars with film directors.

Local emcees like TP Lim, Siow Hui Mei and Gan Jiang Han hosted the awards ceremony while Dennis Gan, Dylan Liong and Tan Ley Teng eemceed the red carpet event.

Apart from the award-winning Hui, international celebrity guests who graced the event included Hong Kong actor Eric Tsang, film producer Shi Nan Sun, director Oxide Pang and actress Elanne Kwong; Singapore's Mark Lee and Henry Thia; and Taiwan's Tu Duu Chih and Jo Yeh Ju Feng.

Local movie buffs who missed the awards show may catch it on Astro AEC on October 27 at 3.30pm.

List of winners:

Best Movie:Ice Kacang Puppy Love (2010)

Best Director: Chiu Keng Guan - Great Day (2011)

Best Actor: Jack Neo - Homecoming (2011)

Best Actress: Lee Sinje - Ice Kacang Puppy Love (2010)

Best Supporting Actor: Jack Lim - Great Day (2011)

Best Supporting Actress: Kara Hui - The Wedding Diary (2011)

Best Theme Song: We Are Gangster - Hantu Gangster (2012); performed by Namewee (Wee Meng Chee), Ashtaka, Reshmonu, 5 Forty 2; Lyrics by: Namewee, Ashtaka; Composed by: Namewee, 5 Forty 2, Fred Chong

Best Script: Ryon Lee - Nasi Lemak 2.0 (2011)

Best Cinematography: Yong Choon Lin - Ice Kacang Puppy Love (2010)

Best Editing: Victor Wai Tuck - Ice Kacang Puppy Love (2010)

Best Sound Effects: Tu Duu Chih - Kepong Gangster (2012)

Best Original Score: Teng Bee, Stanley Fam - Kepong Gangster (2012)

Best Art Design: Too Wen Huel - Ice Kacang Puppy Love (2010)

Best Image Design: ENW Styling Team - Petaling Street Warriors (2011)

The Best Local Non-Chinese Film: Hikayat Merong Mahawangsa

Most Popular Local Chinese Film: The Wedding Diary (2011)

Most Popular Singaporean Film: We Not Naughty (2012)

Pioneer Award: Datuk Lai Meng, Hon Ying