Thailand adds three more regions - Krabi, Phang Nga, and Surat Thani - to its quarantine-free travel scheme

Image from The Nation Thailand/ANN

BANGKOK, Jan 21 (dpa): Thailand has been reluctant to reopen its borders to tourists, most recently reintroducing a mandatory seven-day quarantine period after having eased rules for vaccinated and recovered travellers last year.

The only region exempt from the new quarantine rule was the popular holiday island Phuket, but another three regions have now been added to the so-called Sandbox scheme, the Tourism Authority of Thailand announced in January.

International travelleres who are fully vaccinated or have recovered from a coronavirus infection are now allowed to enter the coastal regions Krabi, Phang Nga, and Surat Thani for a quarantine-free stay of seven nights.

After this period, they are allowed to visit the entire country of Thailand.

Travelleres are required to present a negative PCR test result when entering the country. They will also need to take another test before leaving the Sandbox region.

Unvaccinated holidaymakers are not eligible to participate in the scheme.

When entering Thailand, they are still required to quarantine at a hotel for 10 days.

All tourists need to apply for the so-called Thailand Pass in advance. - dpa

Article type: free
User access status:
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Thailand , Three , Regions , Allowed , Travel Scheme


Next In Aseanplus News

China economy czar vows support for tech firms after crackdown
Asean News Headlines as at 10pm on Tuesday (May 17)
Harrow School is dropping its British name in China
Indonesia relaxes mask mandates, scraps traveller testing rule
Mahidol lab experiment offers hope for hereditary blindness
Tengku Zafrul: Talk of global recession premature, unwarranted
Philippine pilot in hot water over ‘baseless’ post against VP Robredo
Ringgit appreciates versus US dollar, tracking positive yuan sentiment
Singapore records highest ever temperature for May
Seven SEA transport ministers pledge to urgently restore regional air travel

Others Also Read