Philippines imposes travel ban on seven European countries over Omicron variant

MANILA, Nov. 28 (Xinhua): The Philippines on Sunday imposed travel restrictions on seven European countries to keep out the potentially more contagious new coronavirus variant Omicron, a government spokesman said on Sunday.

Cabinet Secretary and acting Presidential spokesperson Karlo Nograles said Austria, the Czech Republic, Hungary, the Netherlands, Switzerland, Belgium, and Italy are placed under the "red list" effective from Sunday until Dec. 15.

Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Next In Aseanplus News

Giant rubber duck no match for Hong Kong's baking heat
Paws and popcorn: Thai cinema goes pet-friendly
Barisan would still have lost if GE15 called after Melaka, Johor polls, says Ismail Sabri
Chinese anti-corruption watchdog says crackdown will continue
Chinese scientists use nanoplatform ‘aircraft carrier’ to release drugs and attack tumours in cancer patients
Dual circulation needed to protect China economy in ‘extreme’ circumstances, Xi Jinping warns
China-led team finds first evidence of oldest stars in the universe
Blocking Google? Hong Kong internet providers express concerns over enforcing possible protest song ban
I hope to see my son donning the red-shirt and singing Umno's anthem, says Najib’s daughter
BNS agrees to provide quarterly reports on LCS progress

Others Also Read