Jackie Chan now a Datuk

  • Nation
  • Sunday, 01 Feb 2015

Honoured: Chan is getting the Panglima Mahkota Wilayah award.

PETALING JAYA: International movie star Jackie Chan will be among 356 recipients of awards and medals conferred in conjunction with Federal Territories Day today.

The Hong Kong-born star is among the 71 recipients who would be conferred the Panglima Mahkota Wilayah, carrying the title Datuk.

Heading the list of recipients are Attorney General Tan Sri Gani Patail and Former Federal Territories Minister Tan Sri Zulhasnan Rafique, who would be conferred the Seri Utama Mahkota Wilayah (SUMW) award bearing the title “Datuk Seri Utama”.

Yang di-Pertuan Agong Tuanku Alhaj Abdul Halim Mu’adzam Shah would confer the award and medals at Istana Negara today.

Rights reinstated: Former Umno supreme council member Datuk Mohamad Norza Zakaria (left) receiving his release letter from FT Umno secretary Datuk Seri Syed Ali Alhabshee.AZHAR MAHFOF/The Star

Malaysia Retail Chain Association president Datuk Seri Kwok Teng Toong and Malaysia badminton Association deputy president Datuk Seri Mohamad Norza Zakaria are among the 15 recipients of the Darjah Seri Mahkota Wilayah (DSMW) awards carrying the title Datuk Seri.

Other DSMW award recipients include Dr Rahmat Bivi Yusoff (Prime Minister’s Office), Othman Mahmood (Prime Minister’s Office) and Rahim Baba (Koperasi Ukhwah).

The Datuk Seri title would also be conferred to Maglin Dennic Dcruz (PPP), Penang Umno chief Zainal Abidin Osman, and Mohd Ashraf Abdullah (Media Prima).

Others conferred Datukship include H.E Fahad Abdullah Hamad Al-Rashid (Saudi Arabia Embassy mission head), Federal Territory mufti Dr Zulkifli Mohamad Al-Bakri, Kuala Lumpur Catholic Lawyers Society committee member Joy Wilson Appukuttan, and Federal Territory MCA secretary Oong Boon See.

Kwok Teng Toong

Federal Territories Ministry chief secretary Datuk Seri Adnan Md Ikhsan said 43 individuals would receive the Johan Mahkota Wilayah award while 69 others would receive the Kesatria Mahkota Wilayah medal.

Some 60 individuals would be conferred the Ahli Mahkota Wilayah medal, and 96 would be conferred the Pangkuan Mahkota Wilayah medal.

The medal and award presentation ceremony in conjunction with Federal Territories Day was initiated in 2008 in honour of individuals who had contributed towards the development of the federal territory.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Next In Nation

Former military intelligence head fined RM70,000 for corruption
Maqis hands over almost 10 tonnes of seized frozen meat to Zoo Negara
Covid-19: 2,448 private facilities registered as vaccination centres, 299 ready for operation
Covid-19: No sports, recreational activities allowed in MCO areas for two weeks
FT Ministry identifies bazaars, malls visited by hundreds of Covid-19-positive individuals, close contacts
Klang Valley roadblocks will follow district borders, says IGP
Deputy IGP candidates identified, to be decided after Hari Raya, says Acryl Sani
Covid-19: Klang Valley recorded almost half of country's total new cases, says Health DG
Health Ministry: 14 new Covid-19 clusters identified for 418 total nationwide
Rela member claims man tried to run him over with car, police investigating

Stories You'll Enjoy