SK Bukit Bandaraya bags a double

SK Bukit Bandaraya (SKBB) Bangsar created history in the recently concluded Under-12 Majlis Sukan Sekolah-Sekolah Wilayah Persekutuan (MSSWP) hockey tournament when they emerged as champions in both the boys and girls Under-12 categories.

After two consecutive years of being runners-up in 2012 and 2013, the SKBB boys hockey team finally managed to bag the championship title for the first time in the school’s history when they defeated St. John Institution II 2-1 in a thrilling final.

In the preliminary round matches, SKBB boys defeated St John Institution II 2-0, SK Sri Delima 7-1 and SK Taman Maluri 1-0 before defeating SK Wangsa Maju Section R10 3-0 in the crossover semi-finals.

SK Bukit Bandaraya had more reason to celebrate when their girls Under-12 hockey squad created a hat trick when they bagged the championship title for the third consecutive year after defeating SK Seri Cheras 2-0 in the final.

In the preliminary round matches, SKBB girls also remained undefeated. In the group matches, they beat SK La Salle Jinjang 5-0, SK AU Keramat 5-0 and SK Sri Cheras 2-1 before going on to beat Convent Bukit Nenas II 3-0 in the semi-finals.

The first goal for the boys hockey team was scored by Harroshan Singh in the second minute of play followed by the second goal through a well executed penalty corner set piece by Mohd Zulhafizi Aiman in the 17 th minute. Kirandeep Kaur scored the first goal in the 10th minute for the girls team while Razreena Razali bagged the second.

Third place for the boys category was won to SK. Wangsa Maju Section R10 whilst for the girls, the 3 rd place was won by SK Seri Delima.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Sport , Sport , hockey


Others Also Read