Xbox FanFest planned for E3 2017, giveaway starts April 19 - Tech News | The Star Online

ADVERTISEMENT

Xbox FanFest planned for E3 2017, giveaway starts April 19


  • Tech News
  • Wednesday, 19 Apr 2017

E3 2016's Xbox Briefing (pictured) saw Microsoft announce new games, a smaller Xbox One, and Project Scorpio. — Microsoft

E3 2016's Xbox Briefing (pictured) saw Microsoft announce new games, a smaller Xbox One, and Project Scorpio. — Microsoft

Some 500 members of the public will be invited to attend the Electronic Entertainment Expo at Xbox's behest, as the console company prepares to stage another FanFest at the annual videogames event. 

A seat at the Xbox Briefing and access to a community event later that day await winners of 500 tickets to the 2017 Electronic Entertainment Expo in Los Angeles, USA, courtesy of Xbox's FanFest programme. 

The June 11 presentation occurs ahead of E3 itself and is an opportunity for Microsoft's Xbox division to pitch a powerful new console revision, currently known as Project Scorpio, as well as a slate of games and experiences for both Scorpio and Xbox One. 

A closed door event on Monday, June 12 then offers attendees the chance to play some of Xbox's upcoming games, with FanFest access continuing into June 13. 

Four hundred of that 500 ticket allocation will be made available through Twitter on April 19. 

Four batches will be released on a first-come, first-served basis via twitter.com/xbox and the Twitter hashtag #XboxFanFest, starting at 6am PDT. 

That's 9am EDT, 1pm UTC, 2pm BST / West Africa Time, 3pm Central Europe and South Africa, 6.30pm India Standard Time, 9pm Singapore, Malaysia, Philippines and Beijing in China, 10pm Japan, and 11pm Sydney in Australia. 

Registrants must be 21 years old or over, and have an Xbox Live account and Xbox Live Gamertag. Winners will be expected to provide their own travel and accommodation. 

The remaining 100 tickets are being held in reserve for use during other promotions and giveaways. 

Xbox started inviting fans to attend E3 as its guests in 2015, pumping up home crowd support in a conference centre hall usually filled with press and industry. — AFP Relaxnews

ADVERTISEMENT